Welcome!
This guide is intended to help students and faculty at the USU Eastern San Juan campus with library research in biology.
See my contact information in the profile and don't hesitate to call me (435-797-8033) or send questions via e-mail.
Note the RCDE tab on this page. It provides instructions for access to articles, books (print & electronic), and videos from the USU Libraries as well as research tips.
Off Campus Access
You can access most of the library article collections and databases, e-journals and some electronic books by entering your A number and password when prompted.
- Off Campus AccessExplanation of how the EZ Proxy works for access to electronic resources and contact info for troubleshooting.
10 Reasons to use a Library
1. Not everything is on the Internet
2. Not everything on the Internet is Free
3. The Internet is Not Very Organized
4. There is no quality control on the Internet
5. Sources on the Internet can be harder to verify
6. The Internet is too new for some things
7. Library online resources are available 24/7
8. The Internet is a mile wide and an inch deep
9. You're already paying for the library
10. Real live people can help you use our library
This list is adapted from Mark Herring's 10 Reasons Why the Internet Is No Substitute for a Library, which originally appeared in American Libraries, April 2001, p. 76-78.
Finding Research Articles
The databases listed here point to research publications. See the descriptions to help determine which database to try first.
- Academic Search Premier * General database to more than 8000 publications, including both scholarly journals and popular magazines.
* Many items provide links to full text of articles. - Biological Sciences * Index to hundreds of scholarly journals in biology.
* Click ArticleLinker to find article full text online or print volumes at USU Library.
* Note the option to search Tables & Figures to find illustrations or other graphics in art - Animal Behavior Abstracts * Note the option to search Tables & Figures to find illustrations or other graphics in articles.
*See ArticleLinker to find article full text online or print volumes at USU Library. - Web of Science * Online edition of Science Citation Index, 1982 to present.
* Provides article abstracts, bibliographies, and citation data.
* E-mail alerts are available.
* Integrated with EndNote web (www.endnoteweb.com). - Ecology Abstracts
- PubMed (Medline)* Premier index to journals in clinical medicine from the National Library of Medicine.
* Online tutorials available: http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/disted/pubmed.html
* Check the USU Library Electronic Journals list and online catalog to fi - Health Source: Nursing Academic * Indexes more than 500 scholarly journals in the field of medicine.
* Full text access is available for most articles. - Health Source: Consumer Health-related database for the general public with links to some full-text.Health-related database for the general public with links to some full-text.
Finding Books
- USU Eastern Library HomepageUse the search box on the USU Eastern Library homepage, or click on the link toward the top that says "Library Catalog."
- Library Catalog: USU EasternThis is link points to the USU Eastern Library catalog; choose the San Juan campus in the pull-down menu to select the right library.
- Merrill-Cazier Library Catalog (USU in Logan)This link points to the catalog for the Merrill-Cazier Library in Logan. See the RCDE Library Resources tab on this guide for instruction to request a book from the Logan campus.
Flora's Profile |
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable. Contact Info 115 Merrill-Cazier Library, Utah State Univ. phone: 435-797-8033 Text a librarian: 435-227-5420 Send Email |


Loading...
