Admin Sign In 

Links in Library Databases 

Instructions for creating permanent links to articles within library databases and creating permanent links to library databases. These instructions will enable you to put direct links to articles or databases into Blackboard or other course resources.
Last update: Sep 16th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.usu.edu/database_links  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Link to Documents in Databases            Print Page
  
 

EbscoHost

EbscoHost is one of the most common database providers via the USU library. Examples of frequently-used databases are Academic Search Premier, PsycInfo, and Business Source Premier.

  1. Open the document record to which you want to create a link.

    image of Academic Search Premier

  2. Scroll down the page until you see Persistent link to this record.
  3. Highlight, if necessary, and right-click the link (on a Mac with one mouse button, press Command+ C) and choose Copy.

    image from Academic Search Premier
  4. Paste the link into Blackboard or any other location where you want to link to the document.
 

JSTOR

  1. Open the document record to which you want to create a link.

    image from Jstor database

  2. Click the PDF link.

    image from Jstor database

  3. Click OK in the Terms of Use dialog box.

    image from Jstor database

  4. Right-click the link and choose Copy Link Location (on a Mac with one mouse button, press Control + C and choose Copy).

    image from Jstor database

  5. Paste the link into Blackboard or any other location where you want to link to the document.
 

Creating Links to Articles in LexisNexis

If these instructions are confusing, you have any problems, or the website is not working properly, please contact Britt Fagerheim.

Watch short video (1 min 15 sec)

  1. Go to the website http://amdev.net/lna_article_link.php

  2. Enter the name of publication, and click Submit.

    image from Lexis website

  3. Enter the requested information about the article and click Submit.

    image from Lexis website

  4. Highlight, if necessary, and right-click the link (on a Mac with one mouse button, press Control + C) and choose Copy. You also will want to click the Test Link button to make sure the link leads to the correct article.

    image from Lexis website

  5. Paste the link into Blackboard or any other location where you want to link to the document.

 

 

Linking to Articles in Wilson Databases

Education Full-Text is a popular Wilson database.

  1. Open the document record to which you want to create a link.

    image from Wilson database

  2. Scroll down the page to the Persistent URL links. Click the HTML or PDF link.

    image of pdf and html link in Wilson database

  3. A box will open with the link highlighted. Press Ctrl + C (on a Mac, press Command + C) to copy the link.

    image from Wilson database

  4. Paste the link into Blackboard or any other location where you want to link to the document.

 

 

ProQuest

Common database from ProQuest include ProQuest Newsstand and Digital Dissertations.

  1. Open the document record to which you want to create a link.

    Image from ProQuest

  2. Click Copy Link.

    Image from ProQuest database

  3. Highlight the link, right-click (on a Mac with one mouse button, press Control + C) and choose Copy.

    image from ProQuest database

  4. Paste the link into Blackboard or any other location where you want to link to the document.
 

Have Questions?

Profile ImageBritt Fagerheim


Contact Info:
435-797-2643
britt.fagerheim@usu.edu
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait