Digital Databases for Government Information
- Govinfo
This link opens in a new window
Govinfo is a site produced by the United States Government Publishing Office (GPO) that provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government. - HathiTrust
- This link opens in a new window
The HathiTrust is a shared digital repository, incorporating digitized content from some of the largest research libraries in the United States. This database includes over 1 million government documents.
Titles in the public domain are freely available to view as full text. Download materials with your A# and password. - ProQuest Congressional
- This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive database of U.S. Legislative information contains the full-text of bills (1989 to date), laws (1988 to date), the Federal Register (1980 to date), the Code of Federal Regulations, the National Journal (1980 to date), information on members of congress, committees, and congressional publications. - HeinOnline
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 80 million pages of legal history available in an online, fully-searchable, image-based format.
- Government Information Database ListView all of the library's databases related to government information in one place. Perfect for digital access!
- Presidential Materials/RecordsPresidential materials after 1928 are maintained by libraries run by the National Archives. Some presidential materials are held by the Library of Congress. Click here for more information.
- National ArchivesThe National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper. Search their national catalog for digitized materials. Note, only a limited number of government records are preserved and even fewer are available digitally.
- Library of Congress Digital CollectionsFrom manuscripts to letters to maps, the Library of Congress's mission to document America persists in their digital collections. Explore resources online through this link.
Electronic Materials in the Library Catalog
- Library CatalogThe USU Library catalog includes records for government publications 1976-present with incomplete but expanding coverage of pre-1976 publications. Start here and be sure to check the format type. You can limit your search to government materials by using the Advanced Search and limiting your "Material Type" to "Electronic Government Document"
- WorldCatWorldCat is very useful for locating historic government documents. If the material is an electronic document, you may be able to access through other libraries' catalogs.
- Catalog of U.S. Government PublicationsThe federal government's catalog of post-1976 materials. It provides links to digitized historic material on federal websites.
- Utah's Most Elusive: Hard-to-find Government and Scientific Reports Digital CollectionThis digital collection brings to light many elusive reports written about Utah by local, state and government agencies, but not widely distributed. Full of interesting, significant research and information, these hard-to-find reports provide baseline and historical data as well as viewpoints from earlier eras. Access through USU Digital History Collections.
Government Agency Websites & Searching the Web
- Agency Websites at USA.govThis comprehensive list of government agencies will help you find their presence on the web.
Tip:
Use Google to Locate Government Documents.
Google is a powerful way to access government documents posted online. If you know what you're looking for, customize your Google search: Use "site:.gov" to precede your search terms to find government agency sites that pertain to your topic. Placing your search terms in quotation marks may help as well.
Need Help?
FDLP Designation
“This library is a congressionally designated depository for U.S. Government documents. Public access to the government documents collection is guaranteed by public law. (Title 44 United States Code)”
