LibGuides: EDUC 6570 Friedman Susan: Search

Education Databases

Digital Dissertations
Abstracts and citations for dissertations and master's theses. Those published after 1997 are full text.
Education Full Text
Education-based articles from 1983 to present; many in full text format.
ERIC via EBSCOHost
Education index from 1993; some articles in full text
Professional Development Collection
Articles geared to professional educators, with full text capability.
Scopus
Database of peer reviewed journal articles.

Psychology Databases

Below the PsycINFO link you'll find four different ways to familiarize yourself with this database, including a tutorial, a brief guide, a comprehensive guide, and a handout.

PsycINFO
PsycINFO is the premier database in the field of Psychology, offering citations and abstracts to peer-reviewed articles from 2,000 journals, book chapters, books and dissertations, and it is updated weekly.
PsycArticles
Full-text articles from journals of the American Psychological Association.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
PBSC is a full-text article database containing nearly 515 full-text journal titles. This database also features over 490 peer-reviewed journals and PDF images.
more...less...
Note: This database has minimum browser requirements. You must use (at minimum) one of the following: Netscape 7.x; Microsoft Internet Explorer 5.5; Macintosh Safari 1.2x or Firefox 1.0.
Mental Measurements Yearbook
Descriptions and reviews of tests of educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, etc. Includes reliability-validity info. Limit: 4 simultaneous users -- Print copy in Reference Area on the 1st floor -- REF LB 3051 .B87

Basic Search Strategies

Here are some steps for successful searching:

1. Determine the appropriate database

2. Combine terms with Boolean Logic

3. Use descriptors located in the citation

4. Different methods of retrieval - print; email; save

Requesting Journal Articles and Books

If you find books which are not in the Merrill-Cazier Library, or articles from journals to which the library does not subscribe, you may request these items from Interlibrary Services. See the link below.

When you find articles from journals that are in our library, you will need to request the journal from the BARN, which is the Borrower's Automated Retrieval Network. See the link below for instruction on how to access items from the BARN.

Interlibrary Services