What database do I use and when can I stop?
This is a common question, and like so many research questions, the answer is messy. Here are some things to think about as you make these decisions:
- What databases do I use?
- Below are the top databases most used by educators. There is some overlap among journals (e.g., the journal Teacher Education is in multiple databases). Consider the focus of your topic; who writes about these issues? Educators? Psychologists? Medical professionals? You don't need to search all 250+ databases that we own. In general, I recommend at least trying Education Source, ERIC, PsycInfo and Google Scholar
- When can I stop searching?
- It depends. Are you finding new and useful resources? Or are you finding yourself coming upon the same research you have already found? If it's the latter, you have probably flung your research net wide enough.
Education Databases
Below is a list of the major databases in education. You will be prompted to enter your A# and password if you access these databases off campus. There are a number of different ways to retrieve full text of the article. I've posted a few guides to the left to help you, but please contact me if you need more help!
- Education SourceThis database covers scholarly research and information to meet the needs of education students, professionals, and policy makers.
- ERIC via EBSCOThis is a user friendly interface (easy to export citations) that provides access to ERIC, a major provider of research in education.
- Professional Development CollectionFull text article database for professional educators.
- Digital DissertationsYou can search through doctoral dissertations and some Master's theses from most North American graduate schools and many European universities. Includes titles and abstracts from 1980 forward. Full-text is available 1997 - present.
- Digest of Education StatisticsThis database is a government site that collects much of the major research performed in education. It can be a tricky database to navigate. View the DES search guide in the left column of this guide for more tips on how to successfully search this sit or ask me for help.
- Comprehensive List of Education DatabasesThis is a more comprehensive list of resources relating to education.
Psychology Databases
- PsycINFOPsycINFO is the premier database in the field of Psychology, offering citations and abstracts to peer-reviewed articles from 2,000 journals, book chapters, books and dissertations, and it is updated weekly.
- PsycArticlesFull-text articles from journals of the American Psychological Association.
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences CollectionPBSC is a full-text article database containing nearly 515 full-text journal titles. This database also features over 490 peer-reviewed journals and PDF images.
- Mental Measurements YearbookDescriptions and reviews of tests of educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, etc. Includes reliability-validity info. Limit: 4 simultaneous users -- Print copy in the BARN (request in library catalog) -- REF LB 3051 .B87
Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a new kind of Google. Google Scholar enables you to limit your search to scholarly articles and conference proceedings.
Tip: If you set up your search preferences within Google Scholar, a link will appear beside citations for which the USU library has an electronic subscription, enabling you to quickly access the full-text.
Subject Guide
Search Tips
The following link will help you locate articles that you find using the databases.
*We have a new policy where grad students and faculty can request that BARN materials be scanned and emailed to them - EVEN if you live in Logan! Just request those items through interlibrary services.
