Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Faculty: Creating Links to Library Resources: Link to Library Databases & Articles

How to link to databases and articles

This page contains instructions for creating links to library databases and articles within databases, including:

  • EBSCOhost
  • JSTOR
  • Science Direct
  • ProQuest

Each database has slightly different instructions for finding the permanent link that you can use to email to students, post to Canvas or just to save somewhere for yourself.

If there is a database that is not included here that you would like instructions for, please contact your subject librarian.

Link to Library Databases

You first need to find the permanent/durable link to the resources.

The following instructions provide details for finding the permanent link you can use in Canvas or elsewhere:

  1. Find the database you want to link to in the A-Z list of library databases.
     
  2. Right-click on the name of the database and choose Copy Link Location.
     
  3. Paste the link into Canvas or any other location where you want to link to the document.
     
  4. Add the prepend (http://dist.lib.usu.edu/login?url=) to the beginning of the database link - be sure the http:// is included in the database link and the prepend.

EBSCOHost: linking to specific articles/resources

EBSCOHost is one of the most common database providers via the USU library. Examples of frequently-used databases are Academic Search Premier, PsycInfo, and Business Source Premier.

  1. Open the document record to which you want to create a link.

    image of Academic Search Premier
     
  2. To the right of the record, you will see a column labeled "Tools".  Select the option Permalink.

    "permalink highlighted"
     
  3. Copy the link that appears at the top of the screen.

    "permalink example"
  4. Paste the link into Canvas or any other location where you want to link to the document.
  5. Remember to use the prepend (http://dist.lib.usu.edu/login?url=) as shown on the homepage of this guide.
    *These instructions will work for MOST Ebsco databases.  Some databases, like Business Source Premier, have slightly different instructions - contact the library if you need help.

JSTOR: linking to specific articles/resources

  1. Open the document record to which you want to create a link.

    image from Jstor database

     
  2. Find the Stable URL under the publication information.


     
  3. Copy link and paste into Canvas.
     
  4. Remember to use the prepend (http://dist.lib.usu.edu/login?url=) as shown on the homepage of this guide.
     

ProQuest: linking to specific articles/resources

Common database from ProQuest include ProQuest Newsstand and Digital Dissertations.

  1. Open the document record to which you want to create a link.
     
  2. Click Copy Link.
     
  3. Highlight the link, right-click (on a Mac with one mouse button, press Control + C) and choose Copy.
     
  4. Paste the link into Canvas or any other location where you want to link to the document.
     
  5. Remember to use the prepend (http://dist.lib.usu.edu/login?url=) as shown on the homepage of this guide.

Science Direct: : linking to specific articles w/Digital Object Identifiers

A digital object identifier is an identification assigned to an electronic document (or other electronic object). The DOI assigned to an object should allow anyone to easily find the document, regardless of the document's location on the web. Some electronic papers and articles you will find through the library databases are assigned DOIs, such as many items in Elsevier's Science Direct.

  1. Click on the title of the article to which you'd like to link.

    "title highlighted"

     
  2. Locate the DOI underneath the publication information.
    "DOI highlighted"

     
  3. To copy the DOI URL, richt click on the link and choose Copy Link Location. Paste into Canvas. See http://help.sciencedirect.com/flare/Content/doi.htm?CSHID=doi.htm for more information on DOIs in Science Direct.
     
  4. Remember to use the prepend (http://dist.lib.usu.edu/login?url=) as shown on the homepage of this guide.