LibGuides: Citations: Citing Sources in APA Style: Automatically Creating Citations

Automatically Creating Citations in Library Article Collections

Many databases and article collections, plus many e-books, will automatically create citations for whichever article or chapter you are viewing.

Look for a “Cite,” “CiteNow,” or “Cite This Item” button on the database record for the specific article or chapter.
(Not all databases have this feature. For example, LexisNexis does not.)

Examples of citation buttons:

EBSCOhost databases ProQuest databases JSTOR
(e.g., Academic Search Premier) (e.g, Newsstand)

Citation Organizers

Citation organizers are programs that let you:

Store and organize citation information in a raw format, enabling you to quickly create citations in various styles
Import citations directly into documents
Build bibliographies
Export citation information directly from library databases and some websites

Many citation organizers exist in web-based and desktop versions. Examples of citation organizers include:

Zotero
EndNote
Mendeley

For more information about choosing and using a citation organizer, see http://libguides.usu.edu/organizers.

Library Help

Contact:

library.help@usu.edu
(435) 797-2678

Subjects: Accounting, Agriculture, Animal, Dairy & Veterinary Sciences, Anthropology, Applied Economics, Applied Sciences, Technology, & Education, Arts, Automotive Mechanics, Aviation & Technical Education, Biological Engineering, Biology, Chemistry & Biochemistry, Civil & Environmental Engineering, Communication Studies, Communicative Disorders & Deaf Education, Computer Science, Concurrent Enrollment/High School, Cosmetology, Criminal Justice & Law Enforcement, Data Management, Data Sets, Dictionaries & Encyclopedias, Digital Humanities, Economics & Finance, Education, Electrical & Computer Engineering, Engineering, Engineering Education, English 1010/2010, Environment & Ecology, Geography, Geosciences, Human Development & Family Studies, Images, Instructional Technology & Learning Sciences, Interior Design, Intersectional Gender Studies & Research, Journalism & Communication, Kinesiology & Health Science, Landscape Architecture, Languages & Cultures, Library & Information Science, Management, Marketing & Strategy, Mathematics & Statistics, Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering, Music, Newspapers, Nursing, Nutrition, Dietetics & Food Sciences, Philosophy, Physics, Plant, Soils & Climate, Political Science & Law, Psychology, Research Tips, Social Work, Sociology and Anthropology, Special Education and Rehabilitation Counseling, Statistical Information, Technology, Design, and Technical Education, Theater Arts, Theses & Dissertations, Utah's Online Library, Veterinary Medicine, Visual Arts, Watershed Science & Fisheries, Welding, Wildlife, Range and Forestry

Online Citation Creators

There are plenty of citation creators online, but you always need to double-check their accuracy. Never copy and paste without reviewing the citation for accuracy yourself!