Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

PSY 5330/6330: Tests and Measurements: Critiquing Tests

[PSY|5330/6330|Justin D Barker]

Step 1 - Search Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print

Tip:

Discovering Tests and Measures video

Watch this short video on Discovering Tests and Measures to get more help.

Step 2 - Search for Relevant Scholarly Articles

You can use a variety of databases to find articles that review a test or discuss aspects such as reliability. 

Check PsycINFO first and then explore other databases (especially ERIC if your test is Education related).

When searching, try entering the name of the test or its acronym and pairing your search with what you're looking for (test review, validity, reliability, etc.).

Tip:

Evaluating Tests and Measures video

Watch this short video on Evaluating Tests and Measures for more information.

Tip:

Article Linker button

Need the PDF/full-text?

Use Article Linker to search for full-text across all databases. If the article isn't available, choose Request via ILLiad or use interlibrary loan to request a copy from another library.

Reference Books

Online Resource:

At the Merrill-Cazier Library in Logan:

Comprehensive Handbook of Psychological Assessment
REF BF 176.C654 2004
Contains ten to twenty-page articles on some of the major tests.

Tests: A Comprehensive Reference for Assessments in Psychology, Education, and Business
REF BF 176 .T43 2003
Contains short entries on over 3,000 popular tests grouped by what's measured, such as 'intelligence,' with information under the following headings: population, purpose, description format, scoring and cost.

How to Cite a Review (from Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print)

An example of a test review citation with the second and third lines indented.

 

When citing a review from Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print, look for the heading "Yearbook Reference" in the test record and you will find the information for the year and the editors. The permalink for the "Retrieved From" section can be found in the list of options at the right of the test record page.

Below is another example with the format and then the info filled in - due to formatting restrictions for this guide, I wasn't able to indent the lines below the first, so you'd want to follow APA citation style and do a hanging indent on any lines in a citation after the first line. 

Reviewer, R. R. (date). [Test review of ]. In A. A. Editor, B. B. Editor, & C. C. Editor (Eds.), The mental measurements yearbook . Retrieved from:(permalink).

Benson, N. (2017). [Test review of Wechsler Intelligence Scale for Children-Fifth Edition]. In J.F. Carlson, K.F. Geisinger, & J.L. Jonson (Eds.), The twentieth mental measurements yearbook. Retrieved from: http://dist.lib.usu.edu/loginurl=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx? direct=true&db=mmt&AN=test.6873&site=ehost-live. 

 

Need Quick Help?

Chat with a Librarian: