Learn about OER
- Students and OER @ USULearn about Open Educational Resources and why they matter to students at USU and beyond.
OER textbooks to start with
- Introduction to the American Criminal Justice SystemAccess via Open Textbook Library.
- Introduction to SociologyAccess via OpenStax.
- Sociology: Understanding and Changing the Social WorldAccess via Open Textbook Library.
Search for other OER materials
- OpenStaxOpenStax is a collection of peer-reviewed, openly licensed textbooks across disciplines.
- OER CommonsOER Commons is a public digital library of open educational resources. Provides a fully searchable catalog including hundreds of open textbooks for use in higher education.
- MERLOTA curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed to and used by an international education community.
- More search toolsThis page from USU contains links to additional places to search for OER.
Search for Open Access journal articles
While the USU Libraries research databases do include Open Access articles in addition to subscription resources, there is a tool you can use to search some of these articles directly.
The Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) is a resource for finding reputable Open Access journal articles. Their database "contains over 15,000 peer-reviewed open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities."
You can use keywords to search for articles on your topic from their homepage by selecting "Articles" (instead of "Journals") before you search.
There are a number of Open Access journals that contain articles covering topics in criminology, juvenile justice, and more.
Examples include:
