Skip to main content

Library Service Changes in Response to COVID-19: Facilities & Services

This site is intended to provide regular updates regarding changes to library facilities and services in response to this developing situation surrounding COVID-19.

Merrill-Cazier Library Status

Facility Status as of 3/24/20:

Hours Reduced:
Mon - Fri: 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Sat, Sun: 1:00 - 5:00 pm
Access is limited to the 1st Floor Information Commons for USU students and employees ONLY.

USU Library’s physical materials are inaccessible to patrons at this time. USU students and staff may request materials from our collection via Illiad. Library staff will mail them to you. Due to the need to quarantine physical materials, we will seek an electronic version whenever possible. For immediate access, you can search for a e-book and download via HathiTrust (instructions here).

All service desks are CLOSED until further notice, but research services, including subject librarians, are still available through chat, email, and virtual meetings.

Study rooms are CLOSED until further notice.

The Information Commons computers labs are OPEN and fully staffed.

Special Collections & Archives is CLOSED until further notice. Please contact us with your research questions or facilitating access to digital surrogates: (435) 797-8248 or scweb@usu.edu.

Other Centers in the Library:

The Library Writing Center is CLOSED until further notice. However, appointments with tutors are still being offered online. Please see writing.usu.edu to schedule an appointment.

The Latinx Cultural Center is CLOSED until further notice. For help, students can visit the Latinx website, or contact (435) 797-0446 or

pam.allcott@usu.edu.

The Disability Resource Satellite Center, located in the Library Media Collections/Course Reserves Area, is CLOSED

USU Eastern Status

Facility Status as of 3/24/20

The Library & Learning Commons is operating under reduced hours:

Mon - Fri: 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Sat: Noon - 5:00 pm
Sun: Closed

Study rooms are CLOSED until further notice.

USU Blanding Status

USU Blanding Library remains OPEN for regular hours.

Questions or Concerns?

Library Help's picture
Library Help
Contact:
library.help@usu.edu
Information Desk: (435) 797-2678
Circulation Desk: (435) 797-2601
Subjects:Research Tips

Collection Access Services

Due Dates Extended

Due dates for currently checked-out items, including interlibrary loan materials, have been extended to July 1st. Any late fees incurred this semester will be waived.

Returning Materials

If you wish to return materials, exterior book drops are located at either side of the main entrance doors, and on southeast side of the parking lot behind the building, as well as interior book drops located at the circulation desk.

Digitized Books from HathiTrust Available Online

While the Library's physical collections are currently closed, roughly half of USU Libraries' print collection is now accessible through the HathiTrust digital library. To access as a USU user, please see our detailed instructions for logging in and using the collection

E-Book Purchasing

To facilitate online use of library materials, the Library will try to purchase electronic versions of print books we own if needed and available. Please fill out the book request form and indicate that an electronic version is needed in the special instructions field. If an e-book is not available for the title you need, we will contact you as soon as possible.

Interlibrary Loan & Document Delivery

Due dates for ILL materials have been extended to July 1st.

Effective 3/20/2020, due to COVID-19 closures, we are no longer able to borrow physical materials.

Interlibrary Loan Requests are limited to electronic delivery of articles and/or book chapters only. Patrons are limited to 20 active requests at a time. Up to two chapters per book can be requested. Please request it through ILLiad. Note: Due to COVID-19, our access to other libraries collections is limited, we will do our best to obtain materials. We will notify you if we are unable to obtain. Services are limited to USU students, faculty and staff.

USU Library’s physical materials are inaccessible to patrons at this time. USU students and employees may request materials from our collection via Illiad.  Library staff will mail them to you. Due to the need to quarantine physical materials, we will seek an electronic version whenever possible.

Course Reserves Materials

Course Reserves is CLOSED until further notice.

Print textbooks and other physical materials cannot be checked out at this time, however a selection of high-use spring 2020 materials have been digitized for student use and made available for specific Canvas courses.

For questions or concerns, please contact Nick Gittins at nick.gittins@usu.edu or call (435) 797-5991. 

Government Information

Online assistance is available by emailing the Government Information Librarian, Jen Kirk at jen.kirk@usu.edu. Additionally, our staff remains committed to helping patrons from USU and the public access government information virtually. Please see our Digital Access LibGuide: https://libguides.usu.edu/digitalgovinfo. 

Research & Support Services

Online Chat/Email Services

Chat/Email Service Availability Extended:
Mon - Thur: 9:00 am - 7:00 pm

Research services and other library assistance will remain available via online chat and email. To learn more about and use these services, see our Ask Us page. Subject Librarians are not available for in-person meetings at this time, but are still available for email, phone, or online meetings.

Research Data Management Services

Research Data Management Services continues to operate and support researchers remotely. For more information, or to seek help with your research data questions, see datamanagement.usu.edu.

Library Instruction

Previously scheduled in-person instruction sessions have been shifted online or canceled. In lieu of in-person instruction, the library has prepared a list of e-learning materials by discipline. For help integrating these into your course, contact Teagan Eastman at (435) 797-5368 or teagan.eastman@usu.edu.

Theses & Dissertations

For information about changes to process for depositing a digital version of your thesis or dissertation with USU Libraries, please see the video for this recent thesis and dissertation information session.

Binding of theses and dissertations is unavailable until further notice.

Other Service Changes

Locker Rentals Extended into Summer

Locker rentals for spring will extended into summer semester for no additional fee.