Citing Sources in APA
According to APA 7th Edition guidelines you need to find out as much information as you can about who created and published a source and when. You communicate this to your audience through in-text and Reference List citations which your readers can look up themselves.
APA Guides
Recommended sources for help with APA style guidelines:
-
APAstyle.orgFree online help directly from the American Psychological Association. Scroll down to "Quick Answers" section for help with references and formatting.
-
Purdue OWL APA Formatting & Style GuideFree APA help online from Purdue's Online Writing Lab (OWL). Provides examples and instructions for commonly cited materials, as well as a sample APA paper and tips for avoiding plagiarism. The left-hand menu has guidance for both in-text citations and the references list at the end of your paper.
Automatically Creating Citations in Library Article Collections
Many databases and article collections, plus many e-books, will automatically create citations for whichever article or chapter you are viewing.
Look for a “Cite,” “CiteNow,” or “Cite This Item” button on the database record for the specific article or chapter.
(Not all databases have this feature. For example, LexisNexis does not.)
Examples of citation buttons:
EBSCOhost databases ProQuest databases JSTOR
(e.g., Academic Search Premier) (e.g, Newsstand)
DOI
APA style requires that a Digital Object Identifier (DOI) be included in your citation, if available. To see if a journal article has been assigned a DOI, you can look it up on CrossRef or Ask a Librarian.
For more information about the DOI system, see http://www.doi.org.
Alerts & Organizers
Learn more about how citation organizers can help you save, cite and organize your research by viewing the guide below.
USU Writing Center
Need another set of eyes on your paper? The USU Writing Center can help.
The Writing Center offers face-to-face and online tutoring sessions at a variety of locations and times that fit your schedule. It's easy to make an appointment online.
