Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find scholarly articles
GenderWatch is a full-text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject disciplines. It indexes academic and scholarly journals, newspapers, books, conference proceedings, and government publications.
Need the PDF/full-text?
Use Article Linker to search for full-text across all databases. If the article isn't available, choose Request via ILLiad or use interlibrary loan to request a copy from another library.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
A key resource for scholarly research in communication studies and mass media.
Abstracts and citations to articles in journals in sociology, family studies, women's studies, and related social sciences, as well as abstracts to dissertations, conference proceedings, and books, covering 1952-present.
Using Google Scholar?
Sync your Google account with USU. This will get you past paywalls for articles USU subscribes to by having you login with your A# and password.
Find news articles
You can access many news resources directly online yourself. However, you may find yourself running into paywalls. You can access some subscription content through the USU Libraries if you run into this issue.
Here's a master list of all our newspaper databases and collections:
Two recommended databases are these:
Newspaper Source Plus
US and international news sources. Newspaper Source provides selected full text for 154 newspapers. This collection offers full text from major US newspapers including: The Christian Science Monitor, The New York Daily News, The Chicago Tribune, The Miami Herald, and The San Jose Mercury News. International coverage includes The News (Mexico), The Hong Kong Standard, and much more.
ProQuest Newsstand (Global Newsstream)
Full-text access to US and international news sources. Includes coverage of The New York Times and The Times of London, plus hundreds of other news sources and news wires.
Cite news articles
The APA Style website provides guidelines for properly citing newspaper articles in APA (7th edition).
If the article is from a news website that does not have a daily or weekly newspaper (e.g., NPR, CNN), format your citation according to the guidelines for citing a webpage on a news website.
Journalism & Communication Librarian