Encyclopedias and dictionaries
- Encyclopedia of African American MusicEdited by Emmett G. Price III, Tammy L. Kernodle, and Horace J. Maxile, Jr. Published 2011. Print only.
- Oxford Music OnlineYour definitive encyclopedia for all things musical - provides the ability to search several key music reference sources like The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians.
- Volume 3: The United States and Canada | The Garland Encyclopedia of World MusicThe Garland Encyclopedia of World Musics offers a comprehensive view of music as a vital part of the social and cultural life of people around the world. Volume 3 covers the United States. Print only.
- Biographical Dictionary of Afro-American and African MusiciansBy Eileen Southern. Published 1982. Print only.
Books and ebooks
You can use the USU library catalog to find more books and ebooks on your topic by selecting the appropriate Material Type(s) (in Advanced Search) for the resource you are looking for:
Click for more help searching for print books or for more help searching for ebooks.
The library has books about a huge array of topics in African American music history. Here are some examples:
Scholarly articles
- RILM Abstracts of Music LiteratureProvides articles on topics within traditional, popular, and classical music.
- America: History and LifeCitations to the literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the early 20th century.
- JSTORMultidisciplinary journal collection, including the social sciences, humanities, and sciences.
Tip:
Need the PDF/full-text?
Use Article Linker to search for full-text across all databases. If the article isn't available, choose Request via ILLiad or use interlibrary services to request a copy from another library.
Your Librarian
Set up your InterLibrary Loan account
Set up your account here so you can quickly and easily request article PDFs, chapter scans, and books we don't have in the USU Libraries collection.
