Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MUSC 3190: Music History III: Research

[MUSC|3190]

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Scholarly encyclopedias and dictionaries provide background information on your topic as well as details. They can also help you identify additional sources and research ideas.

Books and ebooks

While the Library's physical collections are currently closed, roughly half of USU Libraries' print collection is now accessible through the HathiTrust digital library. To access as a USU user, please see our detailed instructions for logging in and using the collection

You can use the USU library catalog to find books and ebooks on your topic by selecting the appropriate Material Type (in Advanced Search) for the resource you are looking for:

Material type filter with Ebook selected

We can mail books from the library collection to your home. We can also provide scans of book chapters (one per book) regardless of if we have it in our collection. Both of these services are free, and requests can be made via InterLibrary Loan.

Scholarly articles

RILM is the top database for music research, though JSTOR and Historical Abstracts can also be useful tools.

Tip:

Article Linker button

Need the PDF/full-text?

Use Article Linker to search for full-text across all databases. If the article isn't available, choose Request via ILLiad or use interlibrary services to request a copy from another library.

Dissertations

Dissertations can be long and overwhelming documents, but they can also be very useful research tools. They can help you not only understand your topic and its background, but they also contain lengthy reference lists you can use to find other sources.

Set up your InterLibrary Loan account

Set up your account here so you can quickly and easily request article PDFs, chapter scans, and books we don't have in the USU Libraries collection.