Accessing music therapy journals
This video gives a quick overview of how you can search for articles in the Journal of Music Therapy and Music Therapy Perspectives, the publications from the American Music Therapy Association (AMTA).
The library also has these two journals in print for selected years:
Psychology databases
- PsycINFO via EBSCOhostOne of the top resources for research in psychology and the behavioral and social sciences. Includes information on topics ranging from education to pharmacology.
For tips on how to best use PsycINFO, check out these resources:
Quick how-to video:
Interactive tutorial:
http://library2.usu.edu/guide_on_the_side/tutorial/searching-psycinfo
(Tip: If the tutorial won't work, clear your cache or try the link in Chrome.)
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences CollectionIncludes information on a broad range of topics in psychiatry, psychology, and anthropology. Some example topics are mental processes, emotional & behavioral characteristics, and observational & experimental methods.
- APA PsycArticlesArticles from journals published by the American Psychological Association.
Music databases
- RILM Abstracts of Music LiteratureProvides articles on topics within traditional, popular, and classical music.
- JSTORMultidisciplinary journal collection, including the social sciences, humanities, and sciences.
Medical databases
- PubMedA free resource from the US National Library of Medicine and a key resource for medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.
- CINAHL CompleteNursing, allied, and consumer health research article database can be found within the Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature.
- Health Source: Nursing AcademicA full text, scholarly database on health and medicine
Education databases
- ERIC via EBSCO HostA large, online digital library of education research and information, inlcuding scholarly journals and education related documents, including reports, policy papers, dissertations, conference papers and others. Some full text is available. Provided with an EBSCO interface.
- Education SourceA large, online digital library focused on a broad range of educational topics in scholarly articles, news, magazines and trade journals.
General databases
- Professional Development CollectionArticles for clinicians, therapists, and educators on topics ranging from children's health to pedagogical theory and practice.
- Google ScholarMultidisciplinary scholarly search engine. Covers peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts, and articles from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities, and other scholarly organizations. Includes links to USU resources when on campus.
Contact your music librarian
Off Campus Access
You can access ibrary databases, e-journals, and e-books from home or anywhere off-campus.
Just start your search from the USU library website, Canvas, or a library research guide and you'll be prompted for your A# and password to authenticate.
What if we don't own it?
Did you find something you need that we don't own? You can request it from another library, whether it's an article scan or a book.
Just login to your inter-library services account with your A# and password to make your request.
