Skip to main content

Outdoor Recreation Catalogs: Home

Looking for outdoor recreation catalogs in USU Special Collections? See all of your options in one place with this guide.

Introduction

With its explosive growth over the last few decades, the outdoor industry has firmly positioned itself as a significant part of the commercial, environmental, and social fabric of the country. One way to examine this impact is through gear catalogs, which represent the culmination of a company’s work, from the design and development of the products to marketing and promotion of the brand, and how this process changed over time. They also tell us a great deal about consumers, including their style preferences and how they experienced the outdoors. 

Utah State University (USU) Libraries’ Outdoor Recreation Catalogs collection represents an ongoing effort to collect these catalogs and other outdoor recreation publications. Within this guide you can browse and search records of more than 1,600 issues from nearly 400 companies, including manufacturers like Lowe Alpine and Sierra Designs to retailers like Eastern Mountain Sports and REI.

Using This Guide

There are two ways to search the Outdoor Recreation Catalogs collection: the inventory spreadsheet and the digital exhibit. You can navigate to these options using the tabs at the top of this guide.

The inventory spreadsheet is the most up-to-date record of the collection. It includes company name, title, and date for all catalogs in the collection.

In the digital exhibit, you can browse cover images of each catalog in the collection, organized by company. However, because of the additional time required to digitize the covers and upload them to the website, the exhibit may not include the most recent additions to the collection.

Viewing the Catalogs

If you find some catalogs you'd like to view in full, you can do so by visiting the Special Collections and Archives Reading Room. Plan your visit by viewing our Reading Room hours and procedures.

Need Quick Help?

Chat with a Librarian: