Statistics & Data Resources
This page compiles resources for statistics and data in several topic areas. Hover over the info icon for a description of each resource.
General
- Statista General quantitative data on an easy-to-use searchable platform. Covers thousands of sources and topics, with infographics that are easy to share or embed on a webpage.
- Our World in Data A project of the Global Change Data Lab, Our World in Data provides data in a number of research areas. All visualizations and text are licensed under Creative Commons licenses for open use with attribution. Data and code are also available for download.
- Social ExplorerCurrent and historical census data and demographic information for the United States with tools to create thematic maps, interactive maps, and customized reports.
- Measure of America Interactive maps, charts, and reports from the Social Science Research Council about well-being and opportunity in America.
- Statistical Abstracts of the U.S.Statistical reference database containing information on social, political, and economic conditions, collected by the United States Census Bureau; includes downloadable graphs and charts.
U.S. Census
For a comprehensive guide to understanding, finding, and using U.S. Census data, see this Census Basics Guide.
- Data.census.gov The primary way to access Census Bureau data as of July 2019.
- State Data Centers State Data Centers, sponsored by the Census Bureau, coordinate affiliate agencies within their regions to provide access to demographic data and tools. This links to the Census Bureau's directory of all state data centers.
- StatisticalAtlas A free, interactive visualization of U.S. Census Bureau data at many levels.
Utah
- Utah State Data Center The Kem C. Gardner Policy Institute at the University of Utah serves as the Utah State Data Center. It provides access to demographic data and studies and reports on trends within the state.
- Utah Data Provides open access to a growing number of publicly available, reusable data sets covering topics from education, to employment, to public health.
- Utah Department of Health Data Links to a number of Department of Health resources on public health and vital records information.
- Utah Department of Workforce Services This state website provides access to information about Utah workers, industries, wages, and business well-being.
- Utah State Board of Education The Utah State Board of Education (USBE) collects and analyzes a wide variety of information about Utah K-12 schools, student progress, graduation rates, districts, and other useful statistics and reports on the condition of Utah's education.
- Utah System of Higher Education The Utah System of Higher Education collects data from all eight of the public institutions of higher education in the state to help in planning, management, and reporting.
Health
- CDC Data & Statistics A collection of data, statistics, and tools from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
- Centers for Disease Control WONDER CDC WONDER makes the information resources of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) available to public health professionals and the public at large. It provides access to a wide array of public health information and is valuable in public health research, decision making, priority setting, program evaluation, and resource allocation.
- NIMH Statistics An extensive collection of the National Institute of Mental Health's best statistics on the prevalence, treatment, and costs of mental disorders.
- Substance Abuse & Mental Health Data from SAMHSA Data from the Substance Abuse & Mental Health Services Administration.
- World Health Organization WHO is the directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system. It is responsible for providing leadership on global health matters, shaping the health research agenda, setting norms and standards, articulating evidence-based policy options, providing technical support to countries and monitoring and assessing health trends.
Children and Families
- Child Welfare Information Gateway From the U.S. Dept of Health & Human Services. Reports, databases, and demographics on topics from prevention to permanency, including child abuse and neglect, foster care, and adoption.
- Youth.gov Youth facts, funding information, and tools. Assess community assets, generate maps of local and federal resources, search for evidence-based youth programs, and keep up-to-date on the latest, youth-related news.
- ChildStats.gov Find info on conditions and trends related to child and family well-being from 23 U.S. Federal agencies.
- Kids Count Data Center Data from the Annie E. Casey Foundation on child and family well-being in the United States from 2000 to the present. State level data available.
Criminal Justice System
- Bureau of Justice Statistics Statistics on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government
- National Criminal Justice Reference Service Information from the U.S. Dept. of Justice on crime, prevention, corrections, courts, law enforcement, and more.
- Statistical Briefing Book: Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Information about juvenile crime and the juvenile justice system.
Education
- Digest of Education Statistics A compilation of statistical information covering the field of U.S. education from pre-K through graduate school.
International
- UNdata A a single entry-point for international statistical databases. Users can search and download a variety of statistical resources compiled by the United Nations (UN) statistical system and other international agencies.
- World Bank Open Data Free and open access to global development data.
- CIA World Factbook General country data (finance, government system), good for background information.
- UNICEF Data Data available by country and topic, including nutrition, migration, disability, education, violence, health, and more.
- Migration Data Portal Global migration statistics.
- Refugee Flow A study of conflict and human movement, visualizing the human impact of conflict, persecution and violence.
