It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
SW 4100: Social Work Research Methods: Newspapers & Media
You can access many news resources directly online yourself. However, you may find yourself running into paywalls. You can access some subscription content through the USU Libraries if you run into this issue.
Here's a master list of all our newspaper databases and collections:
US and international news sources. Newspaper Source provides selected full text for 154 newspapers. This collection offers full text from major US newspapers including: The Christian Science Monitor, The New York Daily News, The Chicago Tribune, The Miami Herald, and The San Jose Mercury News. International coverage includes The News (Mexico), The Hong Kong Standard, and much more. This database is updated daily on EBSCOhost.
Different media sources present issues in different ways, depending on their goals, audiences, journalistic practices, and possibly, political position. This site gives you a lens into how the same issue can be represented in media sources across the spectrum.
Shows how the same issue is represented differently across the media spectrum.
Think like a journalist
Journalists follow a code of ethics. Does the source you're looking at seem to follow those guidelines? When evaluating the news, think like journalist, investigating the source, its claims, and the evidence it's using to support those claims.
Librarian Mike Caulfield's SIFT model can help with this: Stop. Investigate the Source. Find trusted coverage. Trace to the original.