Find Articles
- Social Services AbstractsIndexes and abstracts current research in social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
- Sociological AbstractsAbstracts and citations to articles in journals in sociology, family studies, women's studies, and related social sciences, as well as abstracts to dissertations, conference proceedings, and books, covering 1952-present.
- PsycINFO via EBSCOhostOne of the top resources for research in psychology and the behavioral and social sciences. Includes information on topics ranging from education to pharmacology.
- PubMedA free resource from the US National Library of Medicine and a key resource for medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.
- MEDLINEA key resource for journal articles in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care, and the preclinical sciences. You can also access Medline articles free in the Pubmed database.
- ERIC via EBSCO HostA large, online digital library of education research and information, inlcuding scholarly journals and education related documents, including reports, policy papers, dissertations, conference papers and others. Some full text is available. Provided with an EBSCO interface.
Tip:
Need the PDF/full-text?
Use Article Linker to search for full-text across all databases. If the article isn't available, choose Request via ILLiad or use interlibrary loan to request a copy from another library.
Tip:
Using Google Scholar?
Sync your Google account with USU. This will get you past paywalls for articles USU subscribes to by having you login with your A# and password.
Find Statistics and Data
General
- Community FactsQuickly identify basic demographic data (population, median age, educational attainment, etc.) from the most recent Census and American Community Survey data for a variety of geographies.
- Measure of AmericaInteractive maps, charts, and reports from the Social Science Research Council about well-being and opportunity in America.
- Statistical Abstracts of the U.S.Statistical reference database containing information on social, political, and economic conditions, collected by the United States Census Bureau; includes downloadable graphs and charts.
Utah
- Utah State Data CenterThe Kem C. Gardner Policy Institute at the University of Utah serves as the Utah State Data Center. It provides access to demographic data and studies and reports on trends within the state.
- Utah DataProvides open access to a growing number of publicly available, reusable data sets covering topics from education, to employment, to public health.
- Utah Department of Health DataLinks to a number of Department of Health resources on public health and vital records information.
- Utah Department of Workforce ServicesThis state website provides access to information about Utah workers, industries, wages, and business well-being.
- Utah State Board of EducationThe Utah State Board of Education (USBE) collects and analyzes a wide variety of information about Utah K-12 schools, student progress, graduation rates, districts, and other useful statistics and reports on the condition of Utah's education.
Health
- CDC Data & StatisticsA collection of data, statistics, and tools from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
- CDC WonderA wide array of public health information from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention valuable in public health research, decision making, priority setting, program evaluation, and resource allocation.
- National Institutes of HealthNIH is the primary U.S. government agency that provides funding for medical research and is the largest source of medical research funding in the world, creating hundreds of thousands of high-quality jobs by funding thousands of scientists in universities and research institutions in every state across America and around the globe.
- NIMH StatisticsAn extensive collection of the National Institute of Mental Health's best statistics on the prevalence, treatment, and costs of mental disorders.
- SAMHSA DataData from the Substance Abuse & Mental Health Services Administration.
- USDA Food Environment AtlasStatistics on food environment indicators, food choices, and diet quality. Provides a spatial overview of community access to healthy food.
Children & Families
- ChildStats.govFind info on conditions and trends related to child and family well-being from 23 U.S. Federal agencies.
- Child Welfare Information GatewayFrom the U.S. Dept of Health & Human Services. Reports, databases and demographics on topics from prevention to permanency, including child abuse and neglect, foster care, and adoption.
- Youth.govYouth facts, funding information, and tools. Assess community assets, generate maps of local and federal resources, search for evidence-based youth programs, and keep up-to-date on the latest, youth-related news.
- Kids Count Data CenterData from the Annie E. Casey Foundation on child and family well-being in the United States from 2000 to the present. State level data available.
For more resources, see the complete Statistics & Data page of the Social Work research guide or ask your librarian.
Find Other Resources
Technical reports, white papers, and other non-journal research literature produced by government agencies, non-profits, research centers, and community organizations may be useful in preparing your Fact Sheet.
To find these materials in Google or another search engine, try a domain search using site:.gov or site:.edu or site:.org with a keyword or phrase indicating the type of resource you're looking for (e.g., "white paper" or report) along with a keyword about your topic.
For example:
site:.gov AND report AND child nutrition
You can also use Boolean operators and wildcards/truncation symbols (*) to expand your search.
For example:
(site:.gov OR site:.edu) AND (report OR "white paper") AND (child* OR teen* OR adolescent) AND nutrition
More information about Google's advanced search operators is available on this guide.
Your Social Work Librarian
Need Quick Help?
Chat with a Librarian:
