This is the "Finding the Full Text of Articles" page of the "Articles: Finding Full Text (Article Linker)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Articles: Finding Full Text (Article Linker)  

Instructions for tracking down the full-text of articles you find in library databases.
Last Updated: Mar 17, 2014 URL: http://libguides.usu.edu/articlelinker Print Guide RSS Updates
Finding the Full Text of Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Finding Electronic Articles

 

Finding Electronic Articles

If you don't see a link to the full text in the library database you are using:

  1. Click the Article Linker button. If the article is available online the full text of the article should appear.

    image of article linker button


 

Finding Articles in Print

 

Finding Articles in Print

Articles Available in Print Format

Let's say for example, you have found the following article in a database, which is an article from the journal Perceptual and Motor Skills:

  1. Click the Article Linker button.

    Image of Article Linker button

  2. After clicking the Article Linker button, if the article is not availabe online you will be directed to the Serials Solutions website. The text states that the "Article is Not Available Online," click By Journal Title in Step 2 to find out if we have a print subscription to the journal for the date and issue you need.



    If you live outside of Logan/Cache Valley and are taking a distance education or regional campus class, you can request an electronic copy of the article. Scroll to Step 3 of this page and request the article via Interlibrary Services.

  3. In this case, the journal title is Perceptual and Motor Skills. The title will appear in the list of results if we have a print subscription. Click the title to access the journal record.



  4. If you aren't taken directly to the journal record, click the title to access the record.

  5. Confirm that we have the journal for the date and issue that you need. Scroll down the list of volumes to the find the specific volume you need, which in this case is 103, from 2006. If you cannot find scroll down to the bottom of the page the to see additional copies or search for an specific volume.



  6. Click "ARS Request" to request the article from the BARN. The following screen will ask for your name, write it, then click "Submit" and you can retrieve the journal from the Journals & Newspapers Desk on the 2nd floor.       
 

Getting Articles USU Doesn't Own

Articles Not Owned by USU in Print or Electronic

Let’s look at your options when you find an article in a magazine or journal the library doesn’t subscribe to.

  1. As an example, you have found the following information in an article database, which is an article from the journal News Photographer. Click the Article Linker button.


  2. After you click the Article Linker button, you see the text "Article is Not Available Online." After the citation information, you see “Step 2 Search the Library Catalog.” Click By Journal Title to search the library catalog and find out if we have a print subscription to the journal for the date that you need.



  3. In this case, the journal title is News Photographer. The search did not find a subscription for the journal News Photographer; the catalog displays similar titles instead.


  4. Return to the web page that opened up when you clicked Article Linker; this is the page where you clicked By Journal Title to search the library catalog. To request that we get a copy of the article from another library, ccroll down to Step 3 and click Request this material through Interlibrary Services.



  5. You can now request a copy of the article via Interlibrary Loan. Click First Time Users if you don't have an account in the Interlibrary Services program (this is different from your Banner login or your login to the library catalog) or log-on to the Interlibrary Loan system and follow the instructions to request the article.


Other Options

If you have a citation for an article, you can find full-text copies of articles to which we have an electronic subscription by searching for the journal in the E-Journals database.

Please contact a librarian if you need further assistance.

Have Questions?

Profile Image
Contact a Librarian
Contact Info
Merrill-Cazier Library
Voice: 435-797-2678
Text: 435-612-0380
library.help@usu.edu
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip