Bear Lake Class Cohort Grant Research Bibliography: Home

This project aimed to collect Bear Lake resources already present at USU, make them more visible, accessible, and organized, and facilitate their use for research, public outreach and awareness, and longer-term research and lake management. Compiled into an accessible collection, these resources can inform a variety of research questions concerning Bear Lake. History 3950: Environmental History examines the evolving relationship between human societies and the environment over time. In this class cohort grant funded by the State of Utah through the Janet L. Quinney Institute for Land, Water and Air, students individually completed a class project focused on finding, organizing, and describing Bear Lake historical primary resources. This work was done in close consultation with Special Collections and Archives and Government Documents in Merrill-Cazier Library.

Grant Research Question:

What historical and cultural resources does USU Special Collections and Archives and Government Documents contain relevant to the history of use, development, recreation, and cultural resources at Bear Lake, and how can those resources best be collected and made available for public and research use for increased public awareness of the lake, and current and future research related to its management?

Cultural and Historical Resources of Bear Lake: A Bibliography

History 3950: Environmental History Class Cohort Research Grant, 205393-A5973

Janet Quinney Lawson Institute for Land Water and Air, Utah State University

State of Utah

Authors:

Dr. Lawrence Culver (PI), Department of History

Stewart Weight, Graduate Research Assistant, Department of History

Cassie Alder, Natasha Behrmann, Leif Berg, Jolie Bordelon, Liz Bryner, Alyssa Buttars,
Sage Cullar-Ledford, Jacey Davis, Joshua Elwell, Kayla Hancey, Taylor Hanslovan, Taylor
Hawkes, Lyndz Higgins, Moroni Holm, Sophie Isom, Anna Jaussi, Logan Jaussi, Peter
Larrabee, Brittany Lloyd, Hunter Lyells, Nathan McIntosh, Annalise McKinnon, Devin
Mortensen, Haley Munson, Amelia Olds, Jackson Osmond, Alyssa Palmer, Joey Puspoki,
Bodie Ray, Josh Ritter, Spencer Roush, Reginald Sessions, Kyle Stoker, Holly Talbot, Diego
Torres-Roe, Jayden Vergara and Max Wolfenbarger. Each of these students was enrolled in
History 3950: Environmental History in spring semester of 2024 when the course section was
a recipient of a Bear Lake Class Cohort Research Grant, and each student participated in finding sources and creating entries for this bibliography.

Contributors:

Daniel Davis, Special Collections and Archives

Jen Kirk, Government Documents

Kelly Rovegno, University Archivists