LibGuides: ANTH 6370: Molly Cannon: Maps & Data

Digital Maps

Old Maps Online
OldMapsOnline.org indexes over 400.000 maps from archives and libraries worldwide. Combines searches from several sources, including USGS topographic maps.
USGS TopoView
TopoView includes current and historic maps produced by the United States Geological Survey. This one-stop shop allows you to search for specific locals and view all available maps in one place.
Historical Maps of the United States: Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection
Access a variety of maps of North America from the 19th and 20th centuries digitized by the University of Texas at Austin.
David Rumsey Map Collection
This collection has over 55,000 maps and images. It focuses on 18th and 19th century maps of North and South America, but also covers other parts of the world.

Collections with Maps
This general links allows you to browse all Library of Congress digital collections that contain maps. Highlights include "Cities and Towns," Sanborn Maps, and Panoramic Maps.
Mapping the National Parks
This collection documents the history, cultural aspects and geological formations of areas that eventually became National Parks.
Railroad Maps, 1828-1900
The Railroad maps represent an important historical record, illustrating the growth of travel and settlement as well as the development of industry and agriculture in the United States. Contains 623 maps chosen from more than 3,000 railroad maps and about 2,000 regional, state, and county maps, and other maps which show "internal improvements" of the past century.

Google Earth Pro
Google Earth Pro on desktop is free for users with advanced feature needs. Import and export GIS data, and go back in time with historical imagery. Available on PC, Mac, or Linux.
How to Read Maps as Historical Texts
An introductory article on how to read, interpret, and analyze maps that includes a glossary of terms.
GIS Lounge
Links to tutorials, example projects, and updates aobut GIS conferences and jobs. GIS Lounge is an information portal primarily relating to the field of geographic information systems. The purpose of this site is to provide introductory text for issues relating to GIS as well as interesting news items, tips, and resources for the geospatial field.

Digital Atlas of Roman and Medieval Civilizations (DARMC)
"The Digital Atlas of Roman and Medieval Civilizations (DARMC) makes freely available on the internet the best available materials for a Geographic Information Systems (GIS) approach to mapping and spatial analysis of the Roman and medieval worlds."
Pleiades
"Pleiades is a community-built gazetteer and graph of ancient places. It publishes authoritative information about ancient places and spaces, providing unique services for finding, displaying, and reusing that information under open license."
Corona Atlas of the Middle East
Free digitized and georectified CORONA satellite images of the Middle East.
Electronic Cultural Atlas Initiative - Atlas Portal
Access a variety of cultural atlases through a consortium organized by UC Berkeley.

Digital Index of North American Archaeology
"The Digital Index of North American Archaeology (DINAA) aggregates archaeological and historical data sets developed over the past century from numerous sources, especially state and federal government agencies. DINAA provides public and research communities with a uniquely comprehensive window into human settlement across North America."
The Digital Archaeological Record (tDAR)
"The Digital Archaeological Record (tDAR) is an international digital repository for the digital records of archaeological investigations. tDAR’s use, development, and maintenance are governed by Digital Antiquity, an organization dedicated to ensuring the long-term preservation of irreplaceable archaeological data and to broadening the access to these data."
Archaeology Data Service
"The aim of the Archaeology Data Service (ADS) is to collect, describe, catalogue, preserve, and provide user support for digital resources that are created as a product of archaeological research... [o]n-line catalogues enable you to search for relevant archaeological data sets, publications, or more widely across the Humanities as a whole."
Digital Projects and Open Access Resource Guide
This guide from Brown University includes links to open access resources and example digital projects.
Archaeological Data (Spatial and Fieldwork) Resource Guide
This guide from Brown University includes links to online atlases and GIS data.