Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Archival Preservation Guide
As part of the Archiving Open House hosted on April 11, 2022 in collaboration with USU’s Inclusion Center and Latinx Cultural Center, USU’s Special Collections and Archives have put together a list with helpful resources which will further your quest in understanding archival preservation and familial history.
Researching Family History
History Hub is a research support community for everyone, including genealogists, historians,
and citizen archivists. Ask the community your own research questions or browse the many questions and answers that have already been asked by other community members.
Search Special Collections & Archives
Archives West is the primary tool for searching inventories or finding aids for the Folklore, Manuscripts, Photographs, and University Archives collections. This database focuses specifically on archival materials available at Utah State University’s Special Collections and Archives.
Utah State Archives
The Utah State Archives website holds records related to Utah government agencies, including genealogy information such as birth certificates and marriage licenses, court records, land records, and more.
GovInfo is a site produced by the United States Government Publishing Office (GPO) that provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
Proquest Statistical Abstract of the U.S.
Statistical reference database containing information on social, political, and economic conditions, collected by the United States Census Bureau and other government agencies; includes downloadable graphs and charts.
Current and historical census data and demographic information for the United States with tools to create thematic maps, interactive maps, and customized reports.
This website is the primary tool for accessing information from the U.S. Census Bureau. Find population data as well as social, economic, and housing characteristics at various geographic levels (national, state, county, etc.)
Library of Congress
The Library of Congress is the largest library in the world, with millions of books, recordings, photographs, newspapers, maps and manuscripts in its collections. This website provides access to a rich, diverse and enduring source of knowledge to inform, inspire and engage you in your intellectual and creative endeavors.
Smithsonian Open Access
Smithsonian Open Access provides access to millions of images owned by the Smithsonian Museum.
The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper. This site contains legal documents such as birth certificates, census records, naturalization records, and military records.
Archival Preservation Resources
Below is a list of websites that offer information on archival preservation. Learn how to preserve archival materials like photos, journals, and digital records.
Northeast Document Conservation Center (NEDCC)
The Northeast Document Conservation Center (NEDCC) offers conservation treatment, digital imaging, and audio preservation services, as well as preservation training, assessments and consultations, and disaster advice on collections.
Digital Preservation Brochure
This brochure contains information on how to preserve your own digital materials, such as digital photos, personal audio records, and more.
Digital Preservation Overview
With so many digital files stored on our cell phones and computers, it may be hard to decide what documents to save. Learn how to identify, organize, manage, and preserve your digital files.
Library of Congress Frequently Asked Questions
The Library of Congress provides a FAQ sheet based on general preservation questions.
Library of Congress Preservation: Photographs
Information on caring, handling, and storing photographs.
Help for Statewide Campus/Online Students
As a USU Statewide or Online student, you can access all of the library's databases, articles, and e-books from home or anywhere with Internet. To access library resources from the USU Libraries website, a research guide (like this!), or your Canvas course, you will be prompted to enter your A number and password. For more information on how to order physical books, get research help, and other time-saving tips, visit the Library Services for Statewide and Online Users website.