Find Articles
- ScopusDatabase of peer-reviewed journal articles. Full text is not included, but Article Linker provides access to full-text articles when available.
Tip:
Need the PDF/full-text?
Use Article Linker to search for full-text across all databases. If the article isn't available, choose Request via ILLiad or use interlibrary loan to request a copy from another library.
- Ecology AbstractsThis is a subset of the ProQuest Agricultural & Environmental Science Database (note that "Ecology Abstracts content only" is checked under the search box), and it contains current ecology research (from 1982 to present).
- Agricultural & Environmental Science DatabaseThis database includes the AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications.
- Wildlife and Ecology Studies WorldwideThis database includes a global perspective on wild mammals, birds, reptiles and amphibians.
Find Books & Background Info
- Library CatalogFind print and electronic books available from USU Libraries, as well as videos and other materials.
- Encyclopedias & DictionariesGather background information from various general and specialized reference books, including dictionaries and encyclopedias.
Tip:
Need a book we don't own?
Use interlibrary loan to request books, articles, and more from other libraries.
Primary vs. Secondary Research
In addition to distinguishing between popular and scholarly articles, you need to be able to understand if the scholarly articles you are reading are reporting primary research or secondary research.
Primary Research
Primary research articles report original research and results. You will see the data and work that the authors produced. A primary source is an article that reports this. Other primary sources can include documents such as diaries and scrapbooks, photographs, and eyewitness accounts.
Secondary Research
Secondary research often summarizes the work of many primary research studies. In the sciences, a common example of this is a review article. Review articles report and analyze the results of primary research articles, but don't report any new information.
Science Writing
Turbek, S. P., Chock, T. M., Donahue, K., Havrilla, C. A., Oliverio, A. M., Polutchko, S. K., Shoemaker, L. G. and Vimercati, L. (2016), Scientific Writing Made Easy: A Step-by-Step Guide to Undergraduate Writing in the Biological Sciences. Bull Ecol Soc Am, 97: 417–426. doi:10.1002/bes2.1258
Gopen, G., & Swan, J. (2018, January 3). The Science of Scientific Writing. Retrieved February 26, 2018, from https://www.americanscientist.org/blog/the-long-view/the-science-of-scientific-writing
- Annotated Journal Article by Michele YeomanThis analyzes the content of a PLoS article, using text boxes, and annotations; this can help you identify what to include in each section of an article.
Resources for Research & Getting Grants
- USU Library Libguide on Grant ResourcesGeared to faculty and graduate students, but it does include a list of books and resources you may find helpful.
Librarian
Need Quick Help?
Chat with a Librarian:
