Find Articles
- Scopus
This link opens in a new window
Database of peer-reviewed journal articles. Full text is not included, but Article Linker provides access to full-text articles when available. - PubMed
- This link opens in a new window
A free resource from the US National Library of Medicine and a key resource for medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. - BioOne CompleteCollection of full-text research journals on topics in biology, ecology, and environmental science.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global (Digital Dissertation Abstracts)Electronic version of Dissertation Abstracts. Includes over 1 million full-text dissertations and 3 million searchable citations.
Tip:
Need the PDF/full-text?
Use Article Linker to search for full-text across all databases. If the article isn't available, choose Request via ILLiad or use interlibrary loan to request a copy from another library.
Tip:
The Merrill-Cazier Library at USU subscribes to Lean Library, a browser plug-in that alerts you when online content is available through the library while you are doing your research both on and off-campus. Lean Library works no matter how you do your research.
- Other Resources in BiologyOther biological databases in USU Libraries.
Find Books & Background Info
- Library Catalog
- This link opens in a new window
Find print and electronic books available from USU Libraries, as well as videos and other materials.
- Encyclopedias & DictionariesGather background information from various general and specialized reference books, including dictionaries and encyclopedias.
Tip:
Need a book we don't own?
Use interlibrary loan to request books, articles, and more from other libraries.
Library Search Tutorials
Choosing Keywords is a guide to help you transform your topic into search terms that work more efficiently in a database.
Finding Related Sources gives tips on using an article to find further information on a topic.
Boolean Operators shows you how to use AND, OR, and NOT to help you structure your search. It also gives information on how to run more complex searches, perform wildcard searches, and how truncation works.
Narrowing or Broadening Your Search shows you a bit more about tools in a database that can help you increase or decrease the number of results you get from a search. It also reviews booleans.
Science Writing
Turbek, S. P., Chock, T. M., Donahue, K., Havrilla, C. A., Oliverio, A. M., Polutchko, S. K., Shoemaker, L. G. and Vimercati, L. (2016), Scientific Writing Made Easy: A Step-by-Step Guide to Undergraduate Writing in the Biological Sciences. Bull Ecol Soc Am, 97: 417–426. doi:10.1002/bes2.1258
Gopen, G., & Swan, J. (2018, January 3). The Science of Scientific Writing. Retrieved February 26, 2018, from https://www.americanscientist.org/blog/the-long-view/the-science-of-scientific-writing
- Annotated Journal Article by Michele YeomanThis analyzes the content of a PLoS article, using text boxes, and annotations; this can help you identify what to include in each section of an article.
Help for Statewide Campus/Online Students
As a USU Statewide or Online student, you can access all of the library's databases, articles, and e-books from home or anywhere with Internet. To access library resources from the USU Libraries website, a research guide (like this!), or your Canvas course, you will be prompted to enter your A number and password. For more information on how to order physical books, get research help, and other time-saving tips, visit the Library Services for Statewide and Online Users website.
Need Help?
Need Quick Help?
Chat with a Librarian:
