LibGuides: HIST 3670: James Sanders: Finding Secondary Source Articles

Tutorial on Finding Full Text Using ArticleLinker

Key Journal on this Topic

Slavery and Abolition

Article Databases

The Library provides access to a few hundred research databases, which are specialized search engines used for locating citations to articles and other research material related to specific topics. For research on historical topics related to slavery and abolition, I recommend the following:

America: History and Life (Requires Authentication) Focus on United States and Canadian history and culture; citations and abstracts only with limited links to full text. Also includes book reviews. OFF-CAMPUS ACCESS REQUIRES AUTHENTICATION.

Historical Abstracts World history and culture citation-and-abstract database.
Dates of coverage run from 1450 to the present. The database includes citations to publications from around the world in more than 50 languages relating to world history fields such as: diplomatic history, economic history, intellectual history, social history, cultural history, military history, political history, history of religion, and the history of science and technology.

Note: This database does not cover the classical or early modern world. Additionally, please use America: History and Life to locate citations related to the United States and Canada.

Full Text Journals and Journal Collections

JSTOR (Requires Authentication)
Multi-disciplinary full-text electronic journal collection. Most recent 2-5 years generally not included. OFF-CAMPUS ACCESS REQUIRES AUTHENTICATION.
Project Muse (Requires Authentication)
Multi-disciplinary e-journal collection for humanities and social sciences with access to current issues. OFF-CAMPUS ACCESS REQUIRES AUTHENTICATION.

Bibliography of Slavery and World Slaving

Bibliography of Slavery and World Slaving
Originally published in Joseph C. Miller's Slavery: A Worldwide Bibliography, 1900-1982 (White Plains NY: Kraus International, 1985) and kept up-to-date through 2008 with the annual Bibliographical Supplements published in Slavery & Abolition.