WILD 2400: Government Information

Essential links and information about how to access materials produced by U.S. federal agencies, bureaus, and offices.

Information about how to read and find citations to government information like bills, laws, statutes, codes, and regulations.

The US Fish and Wildlife Service (FWS) is the principal US Federal agency tasked with providing information to the public on the status and trends of our Nation's wetlands. The US FWS National Wetlands Inventory (NWI) is a publicly available resource that provides detailed information on the abundance, characteristics, and distribution of US wetlands.

IPaC is a project planning tool which streamlines the environmental review process by providing information on the location of listed species and other USFWS trust resources which could potentially be affected by a project.

The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service’s National Digital Library is a searchable collection of selected images, historical artifacts, audio clips, publications, and video, most of which are in the public domain. Those not in the public domain are intended for personal, private use.

Treesearch is an online system for sharing free, full text publications by Research and Development scientists in the US Forest Service. Included in Treesearch are scholarly works published by the agency as well as those published by others, including papers appearing in journals, conference proceedings, or books. All publications appearing in Treesearch are based on peer reviewed research to make sure they provide the best scientific information possible.

BLM publications include documents produced by the BLM's precursors, the General Land Office and the U.S. Grazing Service. Most BLM publications are held at the BLM Library in print form but many also are available online. Online access generally dates back to the 1990s.

The Publications Warehouse provides access to over 160,000 publications written by USGS scientists over the century-plus history of the bureau.

Use either the map or text search to find information about BLM projects including management plans and environmental impact statements.

Search land patents archived by the Bureau of Land Management. The site "provide[s] live access to Federal land conveyance records for the Public Land States, including image access to more than five million Federal land title records issued between 1788 and the present. We also have images of survey plats and field notes, land status records, and control document index records."

Alphabetical list of management plans by National Park site.

Maps of Utah watersheds. Includes links to reports, usage data and more by management units.

Access digital versions of reports from the Bureau of American Ethnology (BAE). From 1879 to 1965, BAE primarily undertook anthropological studies of indigenous peoples of North and South America.

The Library of Congress provides access to digitized primary sources through a variety of digital collections. Some of these materials were formerly part of the American Memory project.