It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Government Information Search Tips: Finding Gov Info
As you search for something, you can better find it by asking the following questions. Each of these answers may help you determine what publication or collection will hold an answer and will indicate whether the material may be digitized.
Who created it?
The House of Representatives? The Senate? A Committee? The President? An Agency?
What format was it created in?
Is it a law? A rule? Remarks? Testimony? A Report? An Agency Publication?
When was it created?
Before 1865? After 1976? After 1995? Is it currently being debated?
Govinfo is a site produced by the United States Government Publishing Office (GPO) that provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government. It is the official replacement for Federal Digital System (FDsys). GovInfo includes materials from Congress, Executive Branch officials and agencies, and Regulatory Information. Dates available range from 1994-2018. Congressional Record from 1891-2018.
HathiTrust is a shared digital repository, incorporating digitized content from some of the largest research libraries in the United States. It's U.S. Federal Documents Program provides open access to over 1 million documents produced by the federal government.
This comprehensive database of U.S. Legislative information contains the full-text of bills (1989 to date), laws (1988 to date), the Federal Register (1980 to date), the Code of Federal Regulations, the National Journal (1980 to date), information on members of congress, committees, and congressional publications.
Provides access to more than 80 million pages of legal history available in an online, fully-searchable, image-based format. Comprehensive coverage from inception of more than 1,600 law-related periodicals. In addition to law journals, HeinOnline also contains the Congressional Record Bound Volumes in their entirety, complete coverage of the US Reports back to 1754, famous world trials dating back to the early 1700s, legal classics from the 16th to the 20th centuries, the United Nations and League of Nations Treaty Series, all United States Treaties, the Federal Register from inception in 1936, the CFR from inception in 1938, and more.
The USU Library catalog includes records for government publications 1976-present with incomplete but expanding coverage of pre-1976 publications. Start here and be sure to check the format type. You can limit your search to government materials by using the Advanced Search and limiting your "Material Type" to "Government Document"
WorldCat is very useful for locating historic government documents, and many records include SuDoc numbers, the call numbers used for government publications at the library. Note the SuDoc number and format and visit the Government Information Department to find it in our collections.
Subscription-based, comprehensive index to historical information published by the United States federal government published between January 1895 and June 1976.Note the SuDoc number and format and visit the Government Information Department to find it in our collections.