This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License
Published on April 15, 1755, A Dictionary of the English Language" or "Johnson's Dictionary" is among the most influential dictionaries in the history of English language. In June of 1746, a group of London booksellers contracted with Johnson to write a dictionary for 1,575 euros ($284,057.80 USD in 2024). He singlehandedly completed the dictionary in seven years and throughout his life produced several revised editions.
Lord Alfred Bruce Douglas (22 October 1870 - 20 March 1945) was an English poet and journalist. He is mostly known as Oscar Wilde's lover. The poetry, some believed to be dedicated to Wilde ranges from lines of passion and intensity. Though he had relations and was married to a woman, many of his works surrounded around homoerotic content which received mixed reviews and suspicions of his sexuality from the readers. Douglas is deemed as a "forgotten poet" mostly due to his controversy and public blame of "ruining" the reputation of Oscar Wilde. However his work has found its way into the USU Hatch Room where his legacy may live on here.
J.F.C. Fuller was an Senior British Army officer, military historian, and strategist. He was known as an early theorist of modern armoured warfare including categorizing principles of warfare. He supported the organized British Fascist movement and was the son of an Anglican clergyman. He wrote plenty of books regarding warfare and biographies of soldiers such as Ulysses S. Grant, Alexander the Great, and even Julius Caesar. He's written a number of books on occultism and The Secret Wisdom of the Qabalah A Study in Jewish Mystical Thought is well known.
In it, it's not a treatise on the Qabalah, but instead a speculative study on the several doctrines in which it contains. He sets off to "penetrate the mists" of Qabalistic learning in hopes that it will emanate a new ideology, which constitutes the foundation of Jewish culture and aspirations.
Sir Robert Naunton was an English writer and politician who sat in the House of Commons at various times between 1606 and 1626. He was born in 1563 and died on March 27th, 1635. His account of Queen Elizabeth I's reign was still in manuscript when he died, and it was later printed in 1641, and again in 1642. The revised edition was printed and issued in 1653. Within it, it explores the inner workings of Queen Elizabeth I's court and her favorite advisors. It provides a unique look into the politics of English history and is a part of the knowledge base of English civilization as we know it be as it is "culturally important" according to scholars.
Henry St. John was an English politician, government officials and political philosopher. In A Collection of Political Tracts delves into what it was like to live during the eighteenth century. It contains first hand accounts of everyday people which includes city dwellers, farmers, businessmen, bankers, merchants, artists and their patrons, politicians and their constituents. The collection consisted of a compilation of various political essays and tracts that he wrote during his lifetime. Topics included religion, philosophy, government, and history. His writings were influential in shaping political discourse during that time. This collection also provides insights into Bolingbroke's political beliefs and ideas, which were often controversial and challenged the prevailing views of his time. It was originally published in 1748, three years before his death.
William Henry Edwards was an American businessman and entomologist. He was also a prominent naturalist specializing in the study of butterflies. There are three published volumes, the first volume being published by the American Entomological Society. These volumes consisted of the evolutionary processes of butterflies, describing new species, contributions to polymorphism (the occurrence of more than one form in the same population of a species) and detailed illustrations of them, which was drawn by Mary Peart, a Pennsylvanian artist and hand colored by Lydia Brown.
In this book, it contains the narrative of the life and execution of James Duke of Mammouth, the dying words of five executed rebels and the life and list of 1,000 slaves sent to America and the 300 more executed people for supporting the Duke against King James II.
William Hogarth was an English painter, engraver, pictorial satirist, social critic, editorial cartoonist and occasional writer on art. He is best known for his series paintings of 'modern moral subjects' which he sold engravings on subscription. Within the complete works, there are 150 steel engravings from the original pictures. They consisted of satirical episodes which illustrated his opinions of the moral shortcomings of eighteenth-century English society.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License