Skip to Main Content

Special Collections & Archives Hatch Room : Visiting the Hatch Room

Anne McQuarrie Hatch (May 11th, 1897 – October 24th,1979), the wife of Lorenzo Boyd Hatch (January 9th, 1897 – August 31st, 1957) had an idea for Utah State University that turned into a staple of preserving history and art.

Location and Hours

The Ella Gardener McQuarrie Hatch Memorial Library "Hatch Room" is located on the lower level of the Merrill-Cazier Library in Room 035 past the initial reading room. 

Office Hours: Monday - Friday, 10:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m. 

Location: Merrill-Cazier Library in the Lower Level Libray Room 035

Please call ahead if you have any questions or concerns before your visit (435) 797-8248

Email scweb@usu.edu for general inquiries at any time.

Mission Statement

"Utah State University Libraries’ Special Collections and Archives (SCA) collects, preserves, and provides broad access to historical and cultural materials, particularly those that document the Intermountain West and Northern Utah."

Public Accessibility

Special Collection and Archives staff provide public access and reference service to members of the Utah State University community and the general public. Access to the collection is available during the USU Reading Room hours.

Hatch Room Rules

  • No food, candy, gum, or beverages
  • Patron photography of materials is typically allowed, but cannot be done without prior approval from staff.
  • Do not touch or remove books from shelves. Ask a staff member for assistance.
  • Filming is allowed with permission of SCA Section Head please email scweb@usu.edu for inquiries
Creative Commons License

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License