Fife Folklore Archives: History

The Fife Folklore Archives trace their beginnings to 1966, when folklorists Austin and Alta Fife began depositing their extensive fieldwork and research materials into Utah State University’s Special Collections. These early contributions—ranging from reel-to-reel recordings and field notes to slides and ephemera—formed the basis of what would become one of the most significant folklore collections in the American West.

In 1972, the University formally established the Austin and Alta Fife Library of Western American Folklore, later renamed the Fife Folklore Archives (FFA). That same year, USU also began offering folklore courses, integrating archival and classroom experiences from the outset.

Following Austin Fife’s retirement in 1975, the Archives were maintained by library staff until 1978, when folklorist William A. “Bert” Wilson was hired to manage the collection and teach in the newly formalized folklore program. His leadership helped shape the USU Student Folklore Collection and established USU as a key site in national folklore networks.

Over the decades, the FFA has been guided by a series of curators who expanded its reach, collections, and public impact:

• Barbara Walker Lloyd (1985–1996) codirected the Fife Folklore Conference, preserved legacy recordings, and expanded teacher outreach and instructional use of the archives.

• Barre Toelken (1985–2002, overlapping with Lloyd and Williams) deepened the program’s interdisciplinary focus and emphasized fieldwork ethics and Navajo cultural partnerships.

• Randy Williams (1993–2019; curator from 1996) launched major oral history initiatives such as Northern Utah Speaks, developed community collaborations, and integrated student training in archival practice.

• Terri Jordan (2019–2022) focused on digital modernization and infrastructure to improve access and prepare the Archives for new directions.

From 2022 to 2024, the Archives were stewarded by USU Library faculty and staff. In 2024, Joe Kinzer was appointed curator. His work continues the legacy of applied fieldwork, oral history, and archival access, while expanding digital platforms and public engagement with the Archives.

For a full account of the Archives' institutional history, see:
Randy Williams, “The Fife Legacy: Fifty Years of Folklore at Utah State University,” in Folklore in the United States and Canada (Indiana University Press, 2020), pp. 192–202. Read via JSTOR