Skip to main content

AVON: Academic Video Online: Home

Academic Video Online (AVON) is a streaming video platform via Alexander Street

How to Access AVON

Merill-Cazier Library has licensed the AVON (Academic Videos Online) video streaming platform. AVON provides streaming on-demand access to over 60,000 streaming videos 24/7. Organized by discipline or keyword searchable, AVON provides access to discipline relevant videos for classroom, Canvas, or remote use.  
AVON Main Home Page:
The main home page provides a variety of access points to the 60,000 plus videos. Also, there are help guides including how to make a video clip and how to make a playlist as well as search tips and using AVON. 
AVON Advanced Search:
Advanced search page has a variety of search fields users can use to find videos of interest. On the left side of the page, you can also browse AVON by discipline.
Browse by Subject:
AVON Browse by Subject organizes streaming videos by broad subjects like Diversity, Health Science, or History then narrows the categories into more specific topics, for instance; LGBT is divided into Gender and Sexuality (332), HIV/Aids (33), Homophobia and Discrimination (121), LGBT in the Arts (49), Politics and the Media (27), Rights and Equality (122), and Social and Cultural Life (252).

MENU:
AVON provides access the the MENU - located on the upper left side of each AVON page. Clicking MENU gives you access to browsing AVON by, DISCIPLINES, TITLES, PUBLISHERS, and more.

AVON Collections by Discipline

Below are some of the discipline collections available on AVON. To find out more about discipline collections in your area, contact your Subject Liaison for additional information.

Featured Collections:

60 Minutes (1997-2014)
Access archives of the legendary CBS program by subject, host, reporter, or by browsing the 60 Minutes archive from 1997-2014.  

American History
American History enables research on key themes, events, and historical eras in U.S. History from the colonial period through the 21st Century. A vast collection of documentaries, newsreels, public affairs videos, and archival footage allows students and researchers to compare viewpoints and get personal and expert accounts on key topics such as the American Revolution, the Cold War, the Civil Rights movement, and the Vietnam War-and people--presidents, key leaders and activists. 

Anthropology
The Alexander Street Anthropology collections offer comprehensive, multimedia resources for the study of anthropology, including the largest collection of ethnographic videos and previously unpublished archival field materials. Content is presented on a multimedia platform that reflects the integrated methods of field research, through linking and cross-searchability of text, audiovisual and archival primary sources.

Art & Architecture
Art & Architecture delivers over 500 hours of documentaries and interviews illustrating the theory and practice of a variety of art forms and providing the context necessary for critical analysis. Ideal for both undergraduate and graduate courses, the works within this collection offer a dynamic tool to enhance understanding of visual media. The collection spans period and region, including coverage of the Renaissance, Neoclassicism, Romanticism, Modern, and Contemporary Art. In addition to art history and theory, the collection addresses applied topics such as architectural and graphic design. 

Counseling & Therapy
Counseling & Therapy provides a large and rich collection of video for the study of counseling, social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. Students and scholars can study, observe, and experience a wide variety of different therapy and counseling methods and approaches as practiced by experts in their field.

Education
Education at Alexander Street focuses on the development and training of teachers. Content includes primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms, demonstrations, lectures, and documentaries to help both new and experienced teachers develop their abilities to teach, mentor, understand, and communicate with students of all levels of need.

Engineering
Engineering Engineers and scientists play an increasingly important role in today's integrated technical and digital world. Education and training in the field of engineering needs to provide existing and emerging engineers with the tools to respond to this new world. As engineering becomes more integrated, engineering education itself needs to become more integrative. Engineers must be able to work across many different disciplines and fields, making the connections needed to develop more creative solutions.


Environmental Studies
Environmental Studies from Alexander Street is an online resource designed to address the needs of one of the fastest growing academic fields. The materials directly confront the most compelling questions faced in contemporary society by bringing together seminal documentary films and powerful footage from diverse sources around the globe.

Film
Film from Alexander Street provides essential streaming video collections to support teaching and research in film studies and related disciplines. The collections include a comprehensive offering of silent era films, which together represent the basis of modern cinematic technique and film theory. Additionally, a contemporary collection offers award winning selections from over 60 countries, providing a window into a wide range of cultures and sociological issues around the world.


LGBT Studies
LGBT Studies Alexander Streets' growing collections in LGBT Studies feature award-winning films, documentaries, interviews, and archival footage exploring the social, cultural, and political evolution of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people from the beginning of the twentieth century to the present day. Courses in sociology, anthropology, psychology, counseling, history, political science, gender studies, cultural studies, and religious studies, will benefit from the award-winning titles included and be enhanced thanks to the playlists and sharing options well-suited for classroom use.


Media Studies
Media Studies from Alexander Street includes videos covering a variety of topic areas, such as journalism, mass media, and communication sciences. Highlights include the archive of 60 Minutes,1997-2014, videos produced by Fred Friendly that feature panelists of famous thinkers discussing media ethics, and current documentaries discussing the power of the media in today's political climate.

Nursing
Nursing is a unique online collection of videos created specifically for the education and training of nurses, nursing assistants, and other healthcare workers. All of the videos in the collection have been created with the guidance of the Medcom-Trainex advisory board, and are regularly reviewed for accuracy, currency, and compliance with US Federal regulations from agencies such as OSHA and CMS.


Politics & Current Affairs
The videos in this collection include films, documentaries and investigative journalism series that delve into the most critical issues of the day, linking together politics and current affairs and examining them within a larger social, economic and cultural backdrop.

Psychology
Psychology at Alexander Street provides a large and diverse collection of both video and text that focuses on how people think, feel, develop and change. The content covers topics such as human motivation, aggression, the brain, emotion, intelligence, memory and more.

Social Sciences 
Through raw field recordings, documentaries, newsreels, counseling transcripts and sessions, and much more, users can examine and connect personal, social, and spiritual aspects of the human condition. These materials facilitate exploration into humanity’s interpersonal nature across politics, the criminal justice system, business, religion, psychology, public safety, anthropology, education, and studies of the environment and current events.

Sports Medicine & Exercise Science
Sports Medicine & Exercise Science from Alexander Street is focused on the best ways for people to exercise, how they can get into and maintain good fitness. Lectures, demonstrations, documentaries, and instructional materials cover the areas of fitness, health assessment, disease management, injury treatment, nutrition, medical fitness, sport science, work-site wellness, exercise adherence, and much more.

Veterinary Science
Veterinary Science from Alexander Street consists of multiple resources, which deliver high-caliber content relevant to students, faculty, and practitioners in all areas of animal care, including veterinarians, veterinary technicians, assistants, and other team members. Our clinical materials feature demonstrations from many of the field's most respected experts. Our non-clinical materials focus on the relationships between humans and animals, including emotional, ethical, and economic forces that inform the treatment of animals in our care.

Women and Social Movements
The Women and Social Movements collection of products constitute a resource for students and scholars of U.S./World history and U.S./World women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements between 1600 and the present, the collection seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding at the same time that it makes the insights of women's history accessible to teachers and students at universities, colleges, and high schools.

Women's Studies
Women's Studies provides documentaries and films covering the study of gender, feminism, women’s history, media studies, and politics. Alexander Street's collections address issues of social justice, gender/sexual identity, political activism and are the focus and provide insight into the contributions of women to history, culture, and society.

 

Off-Campus Access

You should be prompted to enter your A number and Banner password when accessing AVON from the off-campus and then you will have full access to over 60,000 streaming videos. For trouble shooting access check the off-campus access help guide.

AVON Help Guide

Academic Video Online: Home
Access the AVON online help guide for help accessing AVON collections. The help guide promotes featured playlists, links to discipline & subject level collections, help guides and more.