Primary Source Collections
- AIDS History Digital Materials, UCSF and the California Digital LibraryDigitized materials related to the AIDS epidemic in the collections of the University of California at San Francisco. These items are taken from several archival collections.
- AIDS Oral History ProjectCapturing factual, contextual, and personal information that will enhance the written record, the AIDS Oral History Projects document the experience of physicians, nurses, and scientists who played key roles in the early years of the AIDS epidemic.
- National Archives CatalogAccess the holdings of the National Archives and Records Administration. Only a fraction of their holdings have been digitized, so you will probably need to limit to "available online" once you have conducted your search.
- National Library of Medicine Digital CollectionNational Library of Medicine's free online repository of biomedical resources including books, still images, videos, and maps.
- Tuskegee Study Administrative Records, 1929-1972NARA documents related to the Tuskegee Syphilis Study. The series includes two types of records. First, records created during the course of the study from its beginning until its end. Second, records created during the resulting Congressional hearing and the federal litigation.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times, 1851 - 2018New York Times in full text and full image from 1851 to 3 years ago. For current New York Times coverage, please use ProQuest U.S. Newsstream.
- HathiTrust
This link opens in a new window
The HathiTrust is a shared digital repository of over 16 million items, incorporating digitized content from some of the largest research libraries in the U.S. For best results, search by subject (e.g. eugenics) - Sabin Americana: History of the Americas, 1500–1926 (Gale Primary Sources)Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more. For best results, search by subject (e.g., psychiatry)
- Congressional Research Historical Archive (1830-2003)Indexes historical Congressional publications, including hearing and reports from both House and Senate as well as the Serial Set. Also includes CRS Reports, Committee Prints, and Serial Set Maps.
Secondary Source Materials
- America: History and LifeCitations to the literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Journal coverage goes back to the early 20th century.
- Library Catalog
- This link opens in a new window
Find print and electronic books available through the USU Merrill-Cazier Library. - Health & Medical CollectionArticle database from the National Library of Medicine. Includes citations and abstracts from biomedical journals. Add "history" to any search.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the History of American Science, Medicine, and Technology by ISBN: 9780199766666Publication Date: 2014-10-28
The Cambridge World History of Human Disease by
Combining recent medical discoveries with historical and geographical scholarship, The Cambridge World History of Human Disease traces the concept of disease throughout history and in each major world region. It offers the history and geography of each significant human disease--both historical and contemporary--from AIDS to yellow fever, and touches on the variety of approaches that different medical traditions have used to fight disease. Accessible to laypeople and specialists alike, The Cambridge World History of Human Disease offers an extraordinary glimpse of what is known about human health as the twenty-first century begins. This important book is now being reissued with a fresh new jacket design.
ISBN: 0521332869Publication Date: 2008
Scholarly Journals
- Bulletin of the History of Medicine
- "..the Bulletin spans the social, cultural, and scientific aspects of the history of medicine worldwide. Every issue includes reviews of recent books on medical history.." (1996-2023 online)
- History of Medicine and Allied Sciences
- "..Started in 1946, the Journal of the History of Medicine and Allied Sciences is internationally recognized as one of the top publications in its field. The journal's coverage is broad, publishing the latest original research on the written beginnings of medicine in all its aspects. When possible and appropriate, it focuses on what practitioners of the healing arts did or taught, and how their peers, as well as patients, received and interpreted their efforts.." (1949-2023 online)
- History of Psychiatry
- "..publishing research articles, analysis and information across the entire field of the history of mental illness and the forms of medicine, psychiatry, cultural response and social policy, which have evolved to understand and treat it. It covers all periods of history up to the present day.." (1990-2023 online)
- Social History of Medicine
- "..the journal of the Society for the Social History of Medicine, is concerned with all aspects of health, illness, and medical treatment in the past. It is committed to publishing work on the social history of medicine from a variety of disciplines.." (1988-2023 online)
OER Primary Source Databases
- Mountain West Digital Library - Utah and the Inter-mountain West
- Contagion - Historical Views of Diseases and Epidemics - Harvard Library
- David J. Sencer CDC Museum: In Association with the Smithsonian Institution
- Native Voices - Native Peoples' Concepts of Health and Illness
- Medical Historical Library at Yale
- History of Medicine Guides a good place to start!
- Also see the Digitized Collections
- History of Disability Collections
- Chesney Archives - JOHNS HOPKINS Medicine, Nursing, Public Health
- The Archives of the History of Psychology
- NIH National Library of Medicine - Digital Projects
- UCLA Library Digital Collections - AIDS Posters Collection
