LibGuides: CCA 3330: Visual Art & Film

Visual Art Resources

ARTstor
Over 1.6 million digital images, including contributions from outstanding international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates.
The Artstor database is provided to USU Libraries by a license agreement that restricts use of the images and text to authorized users and prohibits public distribution of the content. Therefore, you may not display Artstor content on a web site that everyone can access on the Internet. However, the content may be displayed on password-protected websites, such as websites in which access is given only to participants in a class. Instructors and class participants may display Artstor content during a class lecture or presentation. For answers to other questions about how the Artstor content may be used, please email Becky Thoms.

Oxford Dictionary of Art & Artists
Covering Western art from the ancient Greeks to the present day, this resource contains clear and concise entries on styles and movements, materials and techniques, and museums and galleries. It also includes biographical entries for artists, critics, collectors, dealers, and patrons.

Concise Dictionary of Art Terms
An accessible and useful A-Z dictionary, covering a wide range of terms from the visual art world, including materials, techniques, and important styles and periods.

Film Resources

A Dictionary of Film Studies
Written by experts in the field, this dictionary covers all aspects of film studies, including terms, concepts, debates, and movements in film theory and criticism, national, international and transnational cinemas, film history, film movements and genres, film industry organizations and practices, and key technical terms and concepts in 500 detailed entries.

Senses of Cinema
Senses of Cinema is an online journal devoted to the serious and eclectic discussion of cinema.
IMDB
The Internet Movie Database describes itself as the world's most popular and authoritative source for movie, TV and celebrity content.

Watch

Visual art documentaries
Streaming video from Kanopy.
Film documentaries and classics
Streaming video from Kanopy.

Need Help?

Library Help

Contact:

library.help@usu.edu
(435) 797-2678

Subjects: Accounting, Agriculture, Animal, Dairy & Veterinary Sciences, Anthropology, Applied Economics, Applied Sciences, Technology, & Education, Arts, Automotive Technology, Aviation & Technical Education, Biological Engineering, Biology, Chemistry & Biochemistry, Civil & Environmental Engineering, Communication Studies, Communicative Disorders & Deaf Education, Computer Science, Concurrent Enrollment/High School, Cosmetology, Criminal Justice & Law Enforcement, Data Management, Data Sets, Dictionaries & Encyclopedias, Digital Humanities, Economics & Finance, Education, Electrical & Computer Engineering, Engineering, Engineering Education, English 1010/2010, Environment & Society, Geography, Geosciences, Human Development & Family Studies, Images, Instructional Technology & Learning Sciences, Interior Design, Intersectional Gender Studies & Research, Journalism & Communication, Kinesiology & Health Science, Landscape Architecture, Library & Information Science, Management, Marketing & Strategy, Mathematics & Statistics, Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering, Music, Newspapers, Nursing, Nutrition, Dietetics & Food Sciences, Philosophy, Physics, Plant, Soils & Climate, Political Science & Law, Psychology, Research Tips, Social Work, Sociology and Anthropology, Special Education and Rehabilitation Counseling, Statistical Information, Technology, Design, and Technical Education, Theater Arts, Theses & Dissertations, Utah's Online Library, Veterinary Medicine, Visual Arts, Watershed Sciences, Welding, Wildland Resources, World Language and Cultures