Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Authoritative research information on agriculture, environment, forestry, recreation management, tourism, veterinary medicine and related applied life sciences.
Need the PDF/full-text?
Use Article Linker to search for full-text across all databases. If the article isn't available, choose Request via ILLiad or use interlibrary loan to request a copy from another library.
Business Source Premier
A large collection of business information, including articles from scholarly, business and trade publications, SWOT analyses, and book chapters.
FSTA (Food, Science and Technology Abstracts)
Food science products, processing, and manufacturing. FSTA indexes abstracts scientific journals, patents, books, conference proceedings, reports, legislation, and more.
Nursing, allied, and consumer health research article database can be found within the Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature.
Using Google Scholar?
Sync your Google account with USU. This will get you past paywalls for articles USU subscribes to by having you login with your A# and password.
How do I know if this is any good....?
Once you've identified some information sources, you need to decide whether or not you can use that information for the purpose you intend. You've probably seen a checklist of criteria to consider, and that can be helpful, but the real question to ask yourself is "how was this information created?" Different kinds of studies yield different kinds of information. The links below can help you make sense of it all.
Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics Evidence Analysis Library
The Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics is on the forefront of evidence-based practice. This website includes practice guidelines as well as a thorough explanation of their procedures for analyzing evidence and links to other helpful websites.
A more detailed explanation of evaluating the information you find.
Study Design 101
My colleagues at GWU's Himmelfarb Health Science Library have created a handy--and short!--tutorial for understanding the advantages and disadvantages of different types of studies. Take a look at this to learn what kind of information comes from what kind of study. Just remember not to use the help links embedded in the tutorial, because I will never see your requests if you do.
Nutrition in the News
There's a wide range of nutrition information on the web. Some of it is solid science and some of it is pretty sketchy. Here are some places to get ideas on writing science-based articles for the general public.
, Animal, Dairy & Veterinary Sciences
, Applied Economics
, Applied Sciences, Technology, & Education
, Aviation & Technical Education
, Landscape Architecture
, Nutrition, Dietetics & Food Sciences
, Plant, Soils & Climate
, Technology, Design, and Technical Education