Key Government Information Resources
- Environmental Protection AgencyLearn about specific work being done by the EPA and laws pertaining to the environment.
- Gov InfoUse advanced search to browse for laws and regulations from the US government.
- Utah Department of Environmental QualityGovernment information specific to Utah.
Legislation and Laws
Utah
- UTAH.govThe primary website for the state of Utah.
- Utah LegislatureAllows you to search for current and previous bills going through the House and Senate, from 1896-present
- Utah Administrative CodeProvides access to rules initiated by agencies of the State of Utah.
Cache County
- Cache CountyHas links to the Code, Commissions, Council meeting minutes, and geographic data. Counties sometimes have a higher number of services evident on their website, with different departments and information available. They may also be sources of more robust geographic, land-use data, and transportation that is used for planning purposes.
- Logan City CouncilThis website has links to the Code, Notices & Hearings, and past meeting minutes for Logan City.
- North LoganThis website has links to the Code, Commissions, and Council meeting minutes for North Logan.
- ProvidenceThis website has links to the Code, Commissions, and Council meeting minutes for Providence
Government Agency Websites & Searching the Web
- Agency Websites at USA.govThis comprehensive list of government agencies will help you find their presence on the web.
Tip:
Use Google to Locate Government Documents.
Google is a powerful way to access government documents posted online. If you know what you're looking for, customize your Google search: Use "site:.gov" to precede your search terms to find government agency sites that pertain to your topic. Placing your search terms in quotation marks may help as well.
Find Government Information
Maps and Demographic Data
- Profile Characteristics for Utah, Cache Valley, or LoganFind age, ethnicity, household by type (children, etc), employment status, income, commuting, and others.
- Parcel & Zoning ViewerMap of Cache County that can be searched by parcel tax ID number, owner name, address, or acreage.
- Utah GIS and Map DataThis website includes current and historical maps, as well as address maps, demographic maps, elevation/terrain maps, topical maps (climate, energy, environment, transportation, etc.)
- UDOT Traffic MapsThis website includes "more than 700 overhead traffic cameras and 1500 in-road traffic sensors are constantly capturing photographs, video and traffic data on all major Utah Department of Transportation roads."
Utah History and Historical Resources
- Utah State ArchivesArchive for all records from the State of Utah. Resources include online and physical records including vital records, court records, land records, law and legislation, military records, etc.
- Utah Department of Heritage and ArtsThis website includes links to historical art and artifacts from the state of Utah, including historical photos, publications, art collections, etc. Some of the material is digitized and available online.
Records Requests
- Government Records LawsThe Utah State Archives maintains links to records laws from multiple jurisdictions as well as information about case laws and previous records laws.
- Requesting Records in UtahThis page provides links to submit GRAMA requests, contact information for records officers, and links to public notices. It is maintained by the Utah Division of Archives & Records Service.
- Utah Public NoticeThis page facilitates public notice for all bodies in the state that are required to give notice. Many bodies now have the minutes, audio recordings, and other materials from their open and public meetings on the website.
Resources by Subject or Category
- Census BasicsVisit this LibGuide for an introduction to U.S. Census resources, tutorials, and links to data resources.
- Government Data ResourcesVisit this guide to access data produced or curated by federal agencies.
- Native American Studies LibGuideVisit this research guide for resources and tips for finding information about Native Americans.
- Technical Reports & DataVisit this Libguide for a collection of digital databases related to government technical reports.
- Presidential Records & MaterialsVisit this LibGuide to explore resources related to the U.S. presidency.
- Gov Info BasicsVisit this LibGuide to learn about the Federal Depository Library Program and SuDocs classification for government information.
- Legislative ProcessVisit this LibGuide for Congressional Resources and a description of the Legislative Process.
- How to Read Government CitationsLearn how to read government citations and how to use them to find more information about federal legislation.
- All Government Information LibGuidesView all LibGuides for digital resources by course or subject.
