It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Fun Online Resources in USU's Libraries: Home
Ever wonder what "fun" resources you have access to through the USU libraries? This guide lists some of the fun online resources you can access at any time.
The Merrill-Cazier Library at USU subscribes to Lean Library, a browser plug-in that alerts you when online content is available through the library while you are searching for content both on and off-campus. Lean Library works no matter how you do your search.
Too much pop in your playlists? USU Libraries’ subscription to Naxos Music Library brings you over 2 million tracks of classical music, jazz, and more. Whether you’re in the mood for band music, chamber strings, vocal ensembles, or contemporary film scores, you can stream anywhere online. Visit the site and click the phone icon at the bottom-left for instructions on gaining access via the iOS or Android app.
Feeling cooped up over the break? Try taking a virtual trip through celebrated museums to appreciate art and cultures from around the world and times past and present. Collections on Artstor contain everything from classical studies and architecture to fashion, music, medicine, and maps. Why not start your trip at the Metropolitan Museum of Art? You will need to create an individual account to download images.
The Artstor database is provided to USU Libraries by a license agreement that restricts use of the images and text to authorized users and prohibits public distribution of the content. Therefore, you may not display Artstor content on a web site that everyone can access on the Internet. However, the content may be displayed on password-protected websites, such as websites in which access is given only to participants in a class. Instructors and class participants may display Artstor content during a class lecture or presentation. For answers to other questions about how the Artstor content may be used, please email Becky Thoms.
Not sure how to navigate a resource?
Some of the resources have a "play" button at the end of the descriptions. The "play" button links to a tutorial that will help you learn how to navigate the resource.
Merrill-Cazier Library has access to AVON (Academic Videos Online), a video streaming platform. AVON provides streaming on-demand access to over 60,000 feature films, documentaries, foreign films, and more. Organized by discipline and keyword searchable, AVON provides access to on-campus or off-campus use. Not sure where to start? See below for some of AVON's collections.
Collection of worldwide general release films from the Sony and Orion Picture studios. Features releases include Infinitely Polar Bear, The House of Mirth, Being Julia, Elle, Austenland, and much more.
This collection of almost 800 titles provides an exceptional range of content with the most valuable video documentaries and series from PBS. From science to history, art to Shakespeare, diversity to business & economics, and more, The PBS Video Collection: Third Edition access to one of television’s most trusted networks.
The Theatre & Drama collections enable users to experience the depth and diversity of drama in all of its forms, from the page, to the stage, to the screen. In addition to cornerstone text-based resources, Alexander Street provides curated video and audio dramatic performances that give viewers a well-rounded view of this powerful art form.
Asian Film Online offers a view of Asian culture as seen through the lens of the independent Asian filmmaker. Through a selection of over 1,000 narrative feature films, documentaries and shorts curated by film scholars and critics, the collection offers highly relevant perspectives and insights onto themes relevant across Asia, including modernity, globalization, female agency, social and political unrest, and cultural and sexual identity.
Black Studies in Video is an award-winning black studies portfolio that brings together seminal documentaries, powerful interviews, and previously unavailable archival footage surveying the black experience. The collection contains 500 hours of film covering African American history, politics, art and culture, family structure, gender, and more.
LGBT Studies in Video is a cinematic survey of the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people as well as the cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community. This collection features award-winning documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films exploring LGBT history and gay culture.
The Libby app makes finding, checking out, and reading books from OverDrive easy! To use Libby, download the app onto your smart device. After installing Libby, go into the app and click on the icon in the upper right corner. Then click on “Add a Library.” Search for “Utah State University” and log in with your A number and strong password. Then at the Library screen, search for authors or titles of books you’d like to read, check them out directly in Libby and enjoy your read!
You can set up multiple libraries in Libby, so you can read USU Libraries’ books along with those from your public library (if you have a login and password).
O’Reilly for Higher Education (formerly Safari Books Online) offers access to over 45,000 eBooks in computer science, tech, business, etc. The database includes streaming videos, case studies, expert playlists, and more. Additional topics like Career Development, Presentation Skills, and Travel and Hobbies (Cooking, Health & Fitness) and Real Estate are among the other topics available. Explore the world, enhance your career with new skills or deepen your knowledge, make travel plans, and so much more. View this tutorial to learn how to navigate O'Reilly.
Ready to have some fun? Use the Hobbies & Crafts Reference Center to learn a new hobby or craft, games, or even cooking or brewing. Find articles, books, book chapters, and videos related to all kinds of hobbies! You can browse broad categories or search across the whole database, including searching for videos and images. You can limit your results to “projects” to find step by step instructions, patterns, and detailed techniques. As with all Ebsco databases, you can save items you find in a folder and email them to yourself.
Browsable Categories include: Arts & Crafts, Collecting, Home & Garden, Indoor Recreation, Kids' Crafts, Model Building, Needlecrafts & Textiles, Outdoor Recreation, Performing Arts, Science & Technology, Scrapbooking & Paper Crafts.
Your source for interesting facts and figures on a multitude of topics. Some examples of topics covered include gaming, social media, smartphones, coronavirus, cosmetics, food, etc. One example of a fun fact found in Statista shows the share of gamers who missed selected daily activities to keep playing a game in the United States as of February 2019.