Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Data.gov provides access to open, machine-readable data, primarily from federal agencies. It also indexes metadata and links to state, local, and tribal governments data in one centralized location contributed voluntarily by those agencies.
This state-hosted resource provides open access to data about Utah across a variety of categories.
Securities & Exchange Commission (SEC) Filing Search (EDGAR)
"All companies, foreign and domestic, are required to file registration statements, periodic reports, and other forms electronically through EDGAR. Anyone can access and download this information for free." (Text from SEC website)
SEC EDGAR Tutorial
"Here you'll find links to a complete list of filings available through EDGAR and instructions for searching the EDGAR database." (Text from link)
Bureau of Economic Analysis
The Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) provides timely, relevant, and accurate economic accounts data in an objective manner. The available data has a national, regional, industry, and/or international focus and includes essential information on such issues such as economic growth, regional economic development, interindustry relationships, and the Nation's position in the world economy.
Utah Department of Workforce Services
This state website provides access to information about Utah workers, industries, wages, and business well-being.
FRED Economic Data
This site offers a wealth of economic data and information to promote economic education and enhance economic research. The database is updated regularly and allows 24/7 access to regional and national financial and economic data.
National Center for Education Statistics
This site provides access to a variety of data tools to analyze school district, college, and other nationwide education data.
Utah State Board of Education
The Utah State Board of Education (USBE) collects and analyzes a wide variety of information about Utah K-12 schools, student progress, graduation rates, districts, and other useful statistics and reports on the condition of Utah's education.
Utah System of Higher Education
The Utah System of Higher Education collects data from all eight of the public institutions of higher education in the state to help in planning, management, and reporting.
TIGERweb is a web-based resource from the Census Bureau for geographic and location data. TIGER data includes features like roads, railroads, rivers, lakes, and glaciers. It also includes boundaries for legal and statistical geographic entities.
Utah Automated Geographic Resource Center
Utah’s State Geographic Information Database (SGID) provides one-stop download and web service access to hundreds of GIS map data layers developed, aggregated, or acquired by state government. The Resource Center also provides access to aerial imagery and base maps.
GIS Resources at USU
Links to data portals, tutorials, and software for USU affiliates.
Centers for Disease Control WONDER
CDC WONDER makes the information resources of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) available to public health professionals and the public at large. It provides access to a wide array of public health information and is valuable in public health research, decision making, priority setting, program evaluation, and resource allocation.
Utah Department of Health IBIS
This site provides statistical numerical data as well as contextual information on the health status of Utahns and the state of Utah's health care system.
Immigration Data and Statistics Portal
Links to all immigration and statistics data currently available from the Department of Homeland Security (DHS).
Yearbook of Immigration Statistics
"The Yearbook of Immigration Statistics is a compendium of tables that provides data on foreign nationals who, during a fiscal year, were granted lawful permanent residence (i.e., admitted as immigrants or became legal permanent residents), were admitted into the United States on a temporary basis (e.g., tourists, students, or workers), applied for asylum or refugee status, or were naturalized. The Yearbook also presents data on immigration enforcement actions, including alien apprehensions, removals, and returns." (From link)
Department of Homeland Security: Immigration and Customs Enforcement
The Department of Homeland Security is the federal agency responsible for border security and citizenship services.
Congressional Budget Office: Immigration
The Congressional Budget Office (CBO) provides non-partisan reports to Congress on timely legislative issues. This links to the immigration topic page.
Utah Population Estimates & Projections
Gardner Policy Institute
The Kem C. Gardner Policy Institute's research program includes demographic modeling and analysis for use in population estimation and long term projections.
“This library is a congressionally designated depository for U.S. Government documents. Public access to the government documents collection is guaranteed by public law. (Title 44 United States Code)”