Skip to main content

Government Information Department: Home

About the Department

The Government Information Department is located at Utah State University in the Merrill-Cazier Library.

Office Hours: Monday - Friday, 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

Location: Merrill Cazier Library in the Lower Level Southwest (LLSW)

Please call ahead if you have any questions or concerns before your visit 435 - 797 - 2684

Mission Statement

The Government Information Department provides access to multidisciplinary physical and digital collections produced by the U.S. Government. The department highlights materials to educate the USU community and the general public in order to promote understanding and awareness. Government Information staff empower our patrons to gain the knowledge that meets their needs.

Public Accessibility

Government Information Department staff provide public access and reference service to members of the Utah State University community and the general public. Access to the circulating collection is available during all Merrill-Cazier Library hours. Materials stored in the department’s Secure Area (indicated in Catalog fields) must be accessed during office hours.

Public access computers are available on the 1st floor by the Information Desk and in the Government Information area. 

Regional Federal Depository Collection

Regional Depository

The Utah State University Libraries have housed federal government publications as a selective depository since 1907 and a regional depository since 1963. The Government Information Department receives all materials distributed through the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) in a variety of formats. We strive to maintain our historic collections for the future.

Collection Emphasis

Government publications provide an excellent source for in-depth study on all major subject areas. The main depository collection is supplemented by other research report series and individual reports, both print and nonprint. Materials are issued in a variety of formats including print volumes, pamphlets, posters, bound editions, maps, CD, DVD, and digital releases. 

Selective Depository Resources

As the Regional FDLP Depository for Utah and Nevada, USU Libraries provides resources to assist selective depositories in the management of their FDLP materials. Selective depository coordinators can access up-to-date information via the Selective Depository Resources guide. 

Your Librarian

Jen Kirk's picture
Jen Kirk
Contact:
Merril-Cazier Library, Lower Level, Room 012
jen.kirk@usu.edu
(435) 797-8033

FDLP Designation

“This library is a congressionally designated depository for U.S. Government documents. Public access to the government documents collection is guaranteed by public law. (Title 44 United States Code)”

FDLP Regional Depository Logo