Top databases for 2660
Here are a few, specialized databases that have more content related to HDFS. Here are the top three databases we recommend for exploring your HDFS 2660 topic:
- PsycINFO via EBSCOhost
This link opens in a new window
One of the top resources for research in psychology and the behavioral and social sciences. Includes information on topics ranging from education to pharmacology.
For tips on how to best use PsycINFO, check out these resources:
Quick how-to video:
Interactive tutorial:
http://library2.usu.edu/guide_on_the_side/tutorial/searching-psycinfo
(Tip: If the tutorial won't work, clear your cache or try the link in Chrome.)
- Teacher Reference CenterProvides coverage on key education topics such as Assessment, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, Science and Mathematics, and more.
- ERIC via the US Department of EducationA large, online digital library of education research and information, including scholarly journals and education related documents, including reports, policy papers, dissertations, conference papers and others. Some full text is available. Provided with the open access interface (freely available to everyone).
Reading strategies
When doing research in HDFS, you might feel overwhelmed by all the information that's out there. Even within scholarly article databases like PsycINFO and EducationSource, you can find yourself facing thousands of peer-reviewed articles on your topic!
This video gives you a few strategies to skim the articles you find so you can tell if they fit your needs. It also covers some tips for using your search results to help you narrow your research topic.
- How to read a social science journal article
This guide (Laubepin/ICPSR 2013) breaks down the parts of a social science journal article, suggests reading strategies, and reviews where to find specific information within an article.
Need Help?
