Journal Articles
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
This link opens in a new window
Provides articles on topics within traditional, popular, and classical music. - JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
This is a large database covering a number of topics, including music, history, anthropology, and more.
Tip:
Need the PDF/full-text?
Use Article Linker to search for full-text across all databases. If the article isn't available, choose Request via ILLiad or use interlibrary services to request a copy from another library.
Books and E-books
- Library Catalog
- This link opens in a new window
Find print and electronic books available from USU Libraries, as well as videos and other materials.
One helpful resource for topics in this class is the Oxford Global Music Series, which has books devoted to specific music cultures and parts of the world. You can browse the list of titles in this series via the library catalog. Here's an example of one of the books:
Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
- The Garland Encyclopedia of World MusicThe Garland Encyclopedia of World Musics offers a comprehensive view of music as a vital part of the social and cultural life of people around the world. Expert contributors have conducted fieldwork in the communities they profile, and their firsthand experience is reflected in the immediacy of their observations. Each volume emphasizes the contexts of musical performance and presents the fresh insights and analyses of musicologists and anthropologists of diverse national origins.
- Oxford Music Online
- This link opens in a new window
Oxford Music Online allows you to search across top music reference sources, including The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, The Oxford Companion to Music, and The Oxford Dictionary of Music. Here you'll find detailed composer biographies, historical background, analysis, works lists, and more.
- The Harvard Dictionary of MusicA classic reference work that includes entries on all the styles and forms in Western music; comprehensive articles on the music of Africa, Asia, Latin America, and the Middle East; descriptions of instruments enriched by historical background; and articles covering popular music, jazz, and rock.
Streaming Audio and Video
- The Global JukeboxAn archive of free, streaming field recordings of music, dance, and speech from around the word, presented through interactive maps and visualizations.
- Ethnographic Video OnlineClassic and contemporary documentaries, previously unpublished footage from working anthropologists and ethnographers in the field, and select feature films. The collection also includes a wide range of indigenous media.
- EVIA Digital Archive ProjectA digital archive of ethnographic field video, including music and dance.
- FolkstreamsDocumentary films about American Roots cultures.
- Alexander Street Academic Video OnlineProvides access to more than 64,000 streaming video titles, including films and documentaries; all may be browsed and viewed by USU students, staff, and faculty. Subject areas include anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. This collection includes a variety of content types such as documentaries, films, clips, archives, news, TV programs, training, lectures, interviews, ethnographies, performances, and demonstrations.
Musical Instruments
- Musical Instrument Museums Online (MIMO)The world's largest freely accessible database for information on musical instruments held in public collections. The database contains over 64,000 instruments.
- UW Ethnomusicology Musical Instrument CollectionImages, audio, and video for over 400 musical instruments from around the world housed at the University of Washington.
- Museum of Fine Arts Musical InstrumentsMusical instruments from around the world, housed at the Museum of Fine Arts Boston. Scroll down to view collections by instrument type or region.
Library Help
Library Help
Contact:
Subjects: Accounting, Agriculture, Animal, Dairy & Veterinary Sciences, Anthropology, Applied Economics, Applied Sciences, Technology, & Education, Arts, Automotive Mechanics, Aviation & Technical Education, Biological Engineering, Biology, Chemistry & Biochemistry, Civil & Environmental Engineering, Communication Studies, Communicative Disorders & Deaf Education, Computer Science, Concurrent Enrollment/High School, Cosmetology, Criminal Justice & Law Enforcement, Data Management, Data Sets, Dictionaries & Encyclopedias, Digital Humanities, Economics & Finance, Education, Electrical & Computer Engineering, Engineering, Engineering Education, English 1010/2010, Environment & Ecology, Geography, Geosciences, Human Development & Family Studies, Images, Instructional Technology & Learning Sciences, Interior Design, Intersectional Gender Studies & Research, Journalism & Communication, Kinesiology & Health Science, Landscape Architecture, Languages & Cultures, Library & Information Science, Management, Marketing & Strategy, Mathematics & Statistics, Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering, Music, Newspapers, Nursing, Nutrition, Dietetics & Food Sciences, Philosophy, Physics, Plant, Soils & Climate, Political Science & Law, Psychology, Research Tips, Social Work, Sociology and Anthropology, Special Education and Rehabilitation Counseling, Statistical Information, Technology, Design, and Technical Education, Theater Arts, Theses & Dissertations, Utah's Online Library, Veterinary Medicine, Visual Arts, Watershed Science & Fisheries, Welding, Wildlife, Range and Forestry
Access & Troubleshooting
Having problems accessing resources?
See our Online Access page for help.
