LibGuides: Museum Studies: Articles

Art Databases

Art Full Text/Art Index Retrospective
Featuring full-text articles, indexing and abstracts from an international array of publications, this database is a comprehensive resource covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as photography, folk art, film, architecture and much more. This international database indexes hundreds of peer-reviewed journals and art dissertations and offers full text of articles dating back to 1995.
Bibliography of the History of Art
For art historians, here is a freely available Internet database that offers a wide-ranging art history bibliography for European and American art from late antiquity through the 20th Century.
Find indexes or abstracts for art-related books, dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs and articles from over 2500 periodicals. The database available on the Getty Web site contains content from two sources: BHA (Bibliography of the History of Art) covers the years 1990-2007, and RILA (Repertoire de la litterature de l'art) covers the years 1975-1989.

Want more Art resources?

Check out the Art research guide.

Historical Abstracts
World history and culture citation-and-abstract database.
Dates of coverage run from 1450 to the present. The database includes citations to publications from around the world in more than 50 languages relating to world history fields such as: diplomatic history, economic history, intellectual history, social history, cultural history, military history, political history, history of religion, and the history of science and technology.

Note: This database does not cover the classical or early modern world. Additionally, please use America: History and Life to locate citations related to the United States and Canada.
America: History and Life
Citations to the literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the early 20th century.
JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary journal collection, including the social sciences, humanities, and sciences.

Want more History resources?

Check out the History research guide.

Anthrosource
Developed by the American Anthropological Association (AAA), AnthroSource provides over a century publications online.
Anthropological Literature
Provides citations and links to journal articles, reports, commentaries, and obituaries for the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological and linguistic anthropology; also for ethnology, archaeology, folklore and material culture.