Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
100 Years of Zion National Park
On November 19, 1919, Congress created Zion National Park. However, its history as a preserved natural environment dates to 1909. The area's status as a National Monument predates the National Parks Service.
Explore the park's history via the links on this page. To see historic documents in person, visit the Government Information Department, located on the library's lower level, in November 2019.
Digital Versions of Materials Displayed in the Government Information Department
History of Zion
Written by park naturalist A.M. Woodbury in 1937, this history of the park details indigenous peoples, early explorers, and settlement of the park area.
Zion National Monument, Utah (United States Railroad Administration, 1919)
This tourism pamphlet features images and descriptions of Zion National Monument. This publication for the 1919 season predates the area's designation as a national park.
Circular of General Information Regarding Zion National Park, Utah
These circulars include visitor information, maps, and rules and regulations for three operating seasons in the 1920s.
Geology & Geography of the Zion Park Region Utah and Arizona, Geological Survey Professional Paper 220
This professional paper from USGS details the history of park area, from indigenous people to early explorers and settlers. It also includes scientific review of the geology and geography of the area. It's the best of both worlds!
Visitor Information for Zion National Park
Current visitor information for the park. Additional information about park history from the National Park Service.
Southwest Circle Tour Roads and Bridges
The Southwest Circle Tour spans national parks, monuments, and forests in Southwestern Utah and Northern Arizona. This pamphlet details the history and engineering of roadways throughout this area.
Additional Resources for National Park History
National Park Histories
Links to reports or histories of U.S. National Park sites.
Mapping the National Parks
This collection documents the history, cultural aspects and geological formations of areas that eventually became National Parks.
National Parks Management Plans
Alphabetical list of management plans by National Park site.
The USU Library catalog includes records for government publications 1976-present with incomplete but expanding coverage of pre-1976 publications. Start here and be sure to check the format type. You can limit your search to government materials by using the Advanced Search and limiting your "Material Type" to "Government Document"
Search Special Collections
Many materials from the Powell exploration are rare or unique. Search the USU Libraries Special Collections & Archives to find rare books, manuscripts, maps, and photographs from the 1860s and 1870s.
The HathiTrust is a shared digital repository, incorporating digitized content from some of the largest research libraries in the United States. It includes a wealth of historic materials related to the Department of Interior and the National Park Service.
Titles in the public domain are freely available to view as full text; those not included in the public domain (under copyright) are available for limited viewing.
Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) Designation
“This library is a congressionally designated depository for U.S. Government documents. Public access to the government documents collection is guaranteed by public law. (Title 44 United States Code)”