Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find Scholarly Articles
Try searching your criminologist's name in quotes.
Gale OneFile: Criminal Justice
Includes more than 250 journals on law and criminology from Gale Academic OneFile and General OneFile.
Abstracts and citations to articles in journals in sociology, family studies, women's studies, and related social sciences, as well as abstracts to dissertations, conference proceedings, and books, covering 1952-present.
Need the PDF/full-text?
Use Article Linker to search for full-text across all databases. If the article isn't available, choose Request via ILLiad or use interlibrary loan to request a copy from another library.
Using Google Scholar?
Sync your Google account with USU. This will get you past paywalls for articles USU subscribes to by having you login with your A# and password.
Find Books & Video
Try searching your criminologist's name in quotes. You can use the "material type" filter to limit your results to books, ebooks, or streaming video.
Find print and electronic books available from USU Libraries, as well as videos and other materials
Need a book we don't own?
Use interlibrary loan to request books, articles, and more from other libraries.
Find Encyclopedia Entries
Search the following collections of academic encyclopedias and dictionaries:
Oxford Reference Online
Search hundreds of e-books at once for introductory information on research topics. Oxford Reference also offers detailed searchable timelines.
Gale Ebooks: Reference Collection
Search hundreds of e-books at once for introductory information on research topics.
Or try searching these specific dictionaries and encyclopedias:
Find Newspaper Articles
Try searching your criminologist’s name in quotes with the word obituary. If it’s a common name, add sociolog* or criminolog*
For example: “robert merton” obituary
ProQuest Newsstand (Global Newsstream)
Full-text access to US and international news sources. Includes coverage of The New York Times and The Times of London, plus hundreds of other news sources and news wires.
Help for Statewide Campus/Online Students
As a USU Statewide or Online student, you can access all of the library's databases, articles, and e-books from home or anywhere with Internet. To access library resources from the USU Libraries website, a research guide (like this!), or your Canvas course, you will be prompted to enter your A number and password. For more information on how to order physical books, get research help, and other time-saving tips, visit the Library Services for Statewide and Online Users website.