Skip to main content

Streaming Videos in Library: Home

Streaming Video Resources

Exceptions for Instructors eTool

The U.S. Copyright Code provides for the educational use of copyrighted material without the permission of the copyright holder under certain conditions. The Copyright Advisory Network provides this free online tool to find out if your intended use meets the requirements set out in the law.

 

Streaming Packages/Platforms

Alexander Street Academic Video Online (AVON)

AVON Provides access to more than 64,000 streaming video titles, including films and documentaries; all may be browsed and viewed by USU students, staff, and faculty. Subject areas include anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. This collection includes a variety of content types such as documentaries, films, clips, archives, news, TV programs, training, lectures, interviews, ethnographies, performances, and demonstrations.

For more info, see this libguide

Film Platform

Film Platform offers a collection meticulously curated by film experts and leading academics to showcase meaningful documentaries of social, political and cultural importance by some of the world’s top international filmmakers.

Accessible to all current USU students, staff and faculty.

Kanopy

Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions.  Kanopy works directly with filmmakers and film distribution companies to offer award-winning collections including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more.

Currently licensed titles accessible to all current USU students, staff and faculty.

UPDATE as of 7/11/18: Our Kanopy platform no longer offers instant access to entire collection. Only previously licensed titles are currently available to watch instantly, and only until their 1-year license expires (dates may vary). Faculty may request other Kanopy titles via the Library's Request Streaming Media form.

Swank

Titles are valid for one year and are available to all current USU students, faculty and staff directly via USU's Swank portal. Or these films may also be mounted in your Canvas course.  See Canvas link for information to add titles to your class.

Swank has streaming videos that represents Walt Disney Pictures, Warner Bros., Sony Pictures, NBC Universal, New Line Cinema, Lionsgate, MGM, Touchstone Pictures, Hollywood Pictures, Columbia Pictures, Tri Star Pictures, The Weinstein Company, Focus Features, Miramax Films, Warner Independent Pictures, Fine Line Features, Overture Films, Samuel Goldwyn Films, HBO, Hallmark Hall of Fame, United Artists, National Geographic, ThinkFilm, Magnolia Pictures, Image Entertainment, Picturehouse Films, Newmarket Films, IFC Films, First Look Studios, First Independent Pictures, Monterey Media, and many other independent studios.