Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
University Archives endeavors to collect, preserve and make available the permanent historical record of the University. These records include published material, faculty members' papers, office files, and other historical material generated by the various research centers and institutes, as well as that from the many academic departments that comprise its nine colleges.
- To support and advance the mission of Utah State University, and that of the Merrill/Cazier Library.
- To preserve, organize, describe, and provide access to University records appraised as having enduring historic significance.
- To comply with all state and federal privacy acts.
- To be the source of information concerning institutional history.
- To stimulate creative thinking, and maintain an environment where teaching and learning can flourish.
Finding Material in University Archives
Archives West is the primary tool for searching inventories or finding aids for University Archives collections. Materials from University Archives can be identified by collection numbers beginning with USU_, followed by a record group number.
Encyclopedic History of Utah State University
From "A-day" to "Women's Athletics", this encyclopedic history of Utah State University by former USU University Archivist Robert Parson covers people, buildings, programs, events, organizations, songs, school colors, traditions, and more.
University Archives in USU Digital Commons
The University Archives area of the USU Digital Commons contains digitized material from some of our most popular collections including the Buzzer Yearbook, the Utah Statesmen, university catalogs, commencement programs, as well as other publications and papers from across campus.
Utah Digital Newspapers: Utah State University Student Newspapers
Digitized copies of USU's student newspaper from the 1900's-1980's
Utah State University Historical Photo-Board Collection (Selected Items)
A century’s worth of images from Utah State University’s past (1880s-1980s) depict the changing faces and landscape on campus. Teachers, students, activities, clubs, athletics, ceremonies, buildings, and more are featured in over 2,000 photographs collected by a former director of the Library's Special Collections and Archives, A. J. Simmonds.