This is the "HathiTrust" page of the "Databases: HathiTrust" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Databases: HathiTrust   Tags: hathitrust  

Overview of the HathiTrust, a shared digital repository
Last Updated: Apr 6, 2012 URL: http://libguides.usu.edu/hathitrust Print Guide RSS Updates
HathiTrust Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search the HathiTrust

Search the HathiTrust either through a catalog the full text of the corpus.  Browseable collections are also included.

Connect to HathiTrust

 

What is included in the HathiTrust?

As of October 19, 2010:

6,970,616 total volumes
4,002,919 book titles
164,948 serial titles
2,439,715,600 pages
259 terabytes
83 miles
5,664 tons
1,588,001 volumes (~23% of total)
in the public domain

View visualizations of collection statistics.

 

What is the HathiTrust?

Conceived as an archive with access, the HathiTrust is a shared digital repository, incorporating digitized content from some of the largest research libraries in the United States. Started as a collaboration of the thirteen universities of the Committee on Institutional Cooperation and the University of California system, the HathiTrust now counts Dartmouth, Princenton, Yale, Columbia, New York Public Library, the Research Triangle libraries, AND Utah State University as partners.

Material that is in the public domain is freely available to view as full text.  Material that is not included in the public domain is available for limited viewing.

View HathiTrust 101 presentation.

HathiTrust FAQ

 

What is the HathiTrust's relationship with USU?

Utah State University has recently signed on to become the 31st HathiTrust partner institution.  Indiana University and Utah State will be partnering on the Open Folklore project; material will be available through the HathiTrust.  This relationship between IU, the Utah State University Press, and our Special Collections and Archives opened the door for Utah State to become full partners in the HathiTrust. Our membership in this elite group will ultimately enable our user community to download PDFs of content made available through the archive.  

 

What does the name mean?

Hathi (pronounced hah-tee) is the Hindi word for elephant, an animal highly regarded for its memory, wisdom, and strength. Trust is a core value of research libraries and one of their greatest assets. In combination, the words convey the key benefits researchers can expect from a first-of-its-kind shared digital repository.

 

HathiTrust WCL Search

Search for an item in the HathiTrust:
WorldCat.org >>
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip