It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Digital collection offering a perspective on life in the western hemisphere, encompassing the arrival of the Europeans on the shores of North America in the late fifteenth century to the first decades of the twentieth century. This collection covers more than 400 years and more than 65,000 volumes in North, Central, and South America and the West Indies, highlighting the society, politics, religious beliefs, culture, contemporary opinions, and momentous events of the time through sermons, political tracts, newspapers, books, pamphlets, maps, legislation, literature, and more.
Congressional Research Service (CRS) reports provided to the U.S. Congress on topics related to political events. This central source hosted by University of North Texas provides full text access from reports available at many libraries and nonprofit organizations. The collection may be incomplete because a report does not become public until a member of congress releases it.
The Western Waters Digital Library (WWDL) provides free public access to a wide range of significant resources on water in the Western United States. Available resources include classic water literature, legal transcripts, maps, reports, personal papers, water project records, photographs, audio recordings, videos, and other material.
The Evolution of the Conservation Movement, 1850-1920 documents the historical formation and cultural foundations of the movement to conserve and protect America's natural heritage, through books, pamphlets, government documents, manuscripts, prints, photographs, and motion picture footage drawn from the collections of the Library of Congress.
Access the holdings of the National Archives and Records Administration. Only a fraction of their holdings have been digitized, so you will probably need to limit to "available online" once you have conducted your search.
Citations to the literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Journal coverage goes back to the early 20th century. For topics related to Mexico, the Central America, the Caribbean, and South America, please use Historical Abstracts.
Large collection of articles and information on a very wide range of topics; contains scholarly articles and magazine and newspaper articles.
A Companion to American Environmental History by Douglas Cazaux Sackman (Editor)A Companion to American Environmental History gathers together a comprehensive collection of over 30 essays that examine the evolving and diverse field of American environmental history. Provides a complete historiography of American environmental history Brings the field up-to-date to reflect the latest trends and encourages new directions for the field Includes the work of path-breaking environmental historians, from the founders of the field, to contributions from innovative young scholars Takes stock of the discipline through five topically themed parts, with essays ranging from American Indian Environmental Relations to Cities and Suburbs
Berkshire Encyclopedia of Sustainability Vol. 8 by Ray C. Anderson (General Editor)The Americas and Oceania: Assessing Sustainability, Volume 8 of the Berkshire Encyclopedia of Sustainability, provides extensive coverage of sustainability practices in two regions linked culturally and historically by their relative isolation before the Columbian exchange, by their colonization after it, and by the challenges of pollution, resource overuse, and environmental degradation. Regional experts and international scholars focus on environmental history in areas such as the South Pacific islands, now particularly threatened by rising ocean levels due to climate change, and on countries whose governments and corporations can play a major role in promoting or discouraging sustainable choices: Brazil, an emergent power on the world stage; the United States, the world's third most populous nation; and New Zealand, seemingly on its way to becoming an enviable model of sustainable development.