Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
You might be familiar with a database called Academic Search Ultimate from other classes, but there are a few specialized databases I recommend for finding scholarly articles in HDFS 3130. PsycINFO is a great place to start for most research topics in HDFS because of its powerful filters.
PsycINFO via EBSCOhost
One of the top resources for research in psychology and the behavioral and social sciences. Includes information on topics ranging from education to pharmacology.
Need the PDF/full-text?
Use Article Linker to search for full-text across all databases. If the article isn't available, choose Request via ILLiad or use interlibrary services to request a copy from another library. You can also download the Lean Library extension to get full-text materials off campus when available.
More places to search
PsycINFO might not give you the whole picture when it comes to investigating your topic. Consider searching one or more of these additional databases to expand your search.
ERIC via EBSCO Host
A large, online digital library of education research and information, inlcuding scholarly journals and education related documents, including reports, policy papers, dissertations, conference papers and others. Some full text is available. Provided with an EBSCO interface.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Includes information on a broad range of topics in psychiatry, psychology, and anthropology. Some example topics are mental processes, emotional & behavioral characteristics, and observational & experimental methods.
A large, online digital library focused on a broad range of educational topics in scholarly articles, news, magazines and trade journals.
Business Source Premier
A large collection of business information, including articles from scholarly, business and trade publications, SWOT analyses, and book chapters.
Health Source: Nursing Academic
A full text, scholarly database on health and medicine
Multidisciplinary scholarly search engine. Covers peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts, and articles from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities, and other scholarly organizations. Includes links to USU resources when on campus.
Using Google Scholar?
Sync your Google account with USU. This will get you past paywalls for articles USU subscribes to by having you login with your A# and password.
You can also chain information from consumer oriented sources to find research oriented sources. Here are two more popular websites that link to research in your field:
Need strategies for reading academic journal articles?
Use this reading guide from the library to help you understand the major sections of academic articles and develop strategies for quickly understanding them. Or check out the handout linked below for more details.
How to read a social science journal article
This guide (Laubepin/ICPSR 2013) breaks down the parts of a social science journal article, suggests reading strategies, and reviews where to find specific information within an article.
Contact your HDFS librarian