Skip to Main Content

Eating the Past: From Mayonnaise to Farm-to-Table

This guide supports the occasional series Eating the Past, a collaboration between USU Libraries Special Collections & Archives and Arts & Humanities faculty members using the historic cookbook collections to examine foodways of the past.

April 15, 2021 Event

Molded Avocado and Tuna (adapted by Jeanne Sur) from Knox On-Camera Recipes: A Completely New Guide to Gel-Cookery [1962]

Cook's note:

This recipe is still under copyright, so please visit USU's Special Collections and Archives in order to get all of the specific instructions for making this dish. The cook recommends that you consider doubling or even tripling the recipe if you want it to completely fill the mold and appear as the finished product does in our cookbook.

Spring Shallots, Red Onions, Leeks, & Pappardelle (adapted by Victoria Grieve) from Alice Waters' Chez Panisse Pasta, Pizza, & Calzone (1984)

Cook's note:

This recipe is still under copyright so please seek out a copy of Chez Panisse Pasta, Pizza & Calzone in order to prepare the delicious dish.  The cook recommends locating a source of fresh pasta, using local and organic ingredients, and perhaps adding some cheese.

Knox On-Camera Recipes: A Completely New Guide to Gel-Cookery, [1962]

Jeanne Sur, Business Manager for USU's History Department and Utah Public Radio, prepared Molded Avocado and Tuna using a USU Special Collections & Archives copy of Knox On-Camera Recipes: A Completely New Guide to Gel-Cookery (641.5 K772).

Chez Panisse Pasta, Pizza & Calzone, 1984

Victoria Grieve, Professor of History, prepared Spring Shallots, Red Onions, Leeks, & Pappardelle using the USU Special Collections & Archives copy of Chez Panisse Pasta, Pizza & Calzone (641.5 W315). 

Creative Commons License

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License